• August 21, 2014

Afternoon report

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, June 14, 2013 4:08 pm | Updated: 2:13 pm, Thu Jan 23, 2014.

The "defense of others" is kaput. It makes sense that the ruling would come down when I predicted it would not. If I've learned anything since I started covering Maj. Nidal Hasan's hearings, it's that you can only expect to see the unexpected. So as I sat in the quiet auxiliary court room with the few soldiers and reporters that showed up today, I thought today would be the day for something big to come down, especially since I had just uploaded a blog stating nothing of great interest would happen today. Foot meet mouth.

Today the judge, Col. Tara Osborn, in no uncertain terms told Hasan any facet of his new defense strategy would not be permitted in court. A brief can be found here. Basically all of the military law experts I have spoken prior to and after today's 45-minute hearing had said that Osborn had little choice but rejecting his defense. All except retired Col. John Galligan, the Belton attorney who used to represent Hasan. Despite being fired from the case, Galligan has continued to advocate for Hasan in the media. Today he told me Osborn's ruling was "a gross error."

"She's effectively denied him any opportunity to put on any defense," he said.

Hasan had wanted to tell jurors he killed 13 and shot dozens on Nov. 5, 2009, in order to stop them from deploying to Afghanistan and attacking the Taliban. The argument has been called "frivolous" by many. It does show his frame of mind and likely played into why Hasan targeted a processing center where soldiers were undergoing routine pre-deployment paperwork and tests.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Tuesday 07/29/2014

Morning Roundup

Thursday 07/24/2014

KPD Community Forum Tonight

Tuesday 07/22/2014

Morning Roundup 7/22/2014

Monday 07/21/2014

Morning Roundupp 7/21/14

Thursday 07/17/2014

Morning Roundup 7/17/14

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Morning Roundup 7/16/14

Tuesday 07/15/2014

Morning Roundup

Friday 07/11/2014

Morning Roundup 7/11/14

Thursday 07/10/2014

Reporting On Tradgedy Morning Roundup 7/10/14

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Man Drowns In Belton Lake KPD To Welcome New Officers Morning Roundup 7/9/14

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Lethal Drugs In Texas: A History SXSW Suspect No Show In Austin Court Morning Roundup 7/8/14

Thursday 07/03/2014

Morning Crime Roundup 7/3/14

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Local Criminals Using Craigslist To Find Potential Victims Morning Roundup 7/2/14

Tuesday 07/01/2014

Man Killed In Accidental Shooting In Harker Heights. Local Reaction To SCOTUS' Hobby Lobby Decision Bell County Wanted Fugitives Morning Roundup 7/1/14

Monday 06/30/2014

Explosion On Coryell Co. farm kills one, injures two It's Fireworks Season Morning Crime Roundup

Friday 06/27/2014

KPD Confirms Purchase Of Military-Style Carbines Morning Crime Roundup 6/27/14

Thursday 06/26/2014

Chris McGuinness Case Files Is Back

Wednesday 08/28/2013

Morning report: Aug. 28

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Morning report: Aug. 27

Monday 08/26/2013

Morning report: Aug. 26

Friday 08/23/2013

Morning report: Aug. 23

Thursday 08/22/2013

Morning report: Aug. 22

Wednesday 08/21/2013

Morning report: Aug. 21

Tuesday 08/20/2013

Morning report: Aug. 20

Monday 08/19/2013

Morning report: Aug. 19

Friday 08/16/2013

Morning report: Aug. 16

Thursday 08/15/2013

Morning report: Aug. 15

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Morning report: Aug. 14

Tuesday 08/13/2013

Morning report: Aug. 13

Monday 08/12/2013

Morning report: Aug. 12

Friday 08/09/2013

Morning report: Aug. 9

Thursday 08/08/2013

Morning report: Aug. 8

Wednesday 08/07/2013

Morning report: Aug. 7

Tuesday 08/06/2013

Morning report: Aug. 6

Monday 08/05/2013

Morning report: Aug. 5

Friday 08/02/2013

Morning report: Aug. 2

Wednesday 07/31/2013

Midday report: July 31