• December 18, 2014

Fox News's "exclusive statement" from Hasan is not what it seems

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Related Documents

Posted: Monday, July 29, 2013 6:05 pm | Updated: 2:13 pm, Thu Jan 23, 2014.

Fox News reported Friday that Maj. Nidal Hasan has released an exclusive statement to the news agency that is not exactly what the reporters implied it is.

While the article provides interesting information and would appear to be a bit of a coup for the media behemoth, it fails to mention that the "statement" they reference is actually a transcript of a July 18, 2011, conversation between Hasan and Al Jazeera English producer Laila Al-Arian.

Their full story is available here.

Now there is nothing untruthful about the Fox News report, and I must confess some sour grapes here. Here's how it went this morning. I show up to see a letter from "Nidal Hasan #218772, Bell County Jail" on my desk. I re-read the Fox News report, feeling what I have is certainly something different from what the article references. Then I begin to discover the verbatim quotes found on my copy and the Fox News report and realize we got the same thing, except they got it a few days earlier.

That being said, the reporters' failure to mention the context bristles me. Most importantly the omission of the date at which the conversation took place, or that it was a conversation at all, and the implication that it was a statement to Fox News. So to be open about our coverage of the "statement," which will appear in tomorrow's edition, I have uploaded a full PDF of the transcript.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Tuesday 07/29/2014

Morning Roundup

Thursday 07/24/2014

KPD Community Forum Tonight

Tuesday 07/22/2014

Morning Roundup 7/22/2014

Monday 07/21/2014

Morning Roundupp 7/21/14

Thursday 07/17/2014

Morning Roundup 7/17/14

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Morning Roundup 7/16/14

Tuesday 07/15/2014

Morning Roundup

Friday 07/11/2014

Morning Roundup 7/11/14

Thursday 07/10/2014

Reporting On Tradgedy Morning Roundup 7/10/14

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Man Drowns In Belton Lake KPD To Welcome New Officers Morning Roundup 7/9/14

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Lethal Drugs In Texas: A History SXSW Suspect No Show In Austin Court Morning Roundup 7/8/14

Thursday 07/03/2014

Morning Crime Roundup 7/3/14

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Local Criminals Using Craigslist To Find Potential Victims Morning Roundup 7/2/14

Tuesday 07/01/2014

Man Killed In Accidental Shooting In Harker Heights. Local Reaction To SCOTUS' Hobby Lobby Decision Bell County Wanted Fugitives Morning Roundup 7/1/14

Monday 06/30/2014

Explosion On Coryell Co. farm kills one, injures two It's Fireworks Season Morning Crime Roundup

Friday 06/27/2014

KPD Confirms Purchase Of Military-Style Carbines Morning Crime Roundup 6/27/14

Thursday 06/26/2014

Chris McGuinness Case Files Is Back

Wednesday 08/28/2013

Morning report: Aug. 28

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Morning report: Aug. 27

Monday 08/26/2013

Morning report: Aug. 26

Friday 08/23/2013

Morning report: Aug. 23

Thursday 08/22/2013

Morning report: Aug. 22

Wednesday 08/21/2013

Morning report: Aug. 21

Tuesday 08/20/2013

Morning report: Aug. 20

Monday 08/19/2013

Morning report: Aug. 19

Friday 08/16/2013

Morning report: Aug. 16

Thursday 08/15/2013

Morning report: Aug. 15

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Morning report: Aug. 14

Tuesday 08/13/2013

Morning report: Aug. 13

Monday 08/12/2013

Morning report: Aug. 12

Friday 08/09/2013

Morning report: Aug. 9

Thursday 08/08/2013

Morning report: Aug. 8

Wednesday 08/07/2013

Morning report: Aug. 7

Tuesday 08/06/2013

Morning report: Aug. 6

Monday 08/05/2013

Morning report: Aug. 5

Friday 08/02/2013

Morning report: Aug. 2

Wednesday 07/31/2013

Midday report: July 31