• October 24, 2014

KPD To Welcome New Officers

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, July 9, 2014 11:18 am

The Killeen Police Department will swear in its newest group of probationary officers this afternoon.

The new officers are graduates of the department's 20th police academy. According to KPD, this is the first time that the entire group of recruits made it all the way through the academy, and peace officer licensing exam.

That by no means indicates the hiring and training process is easy. The application to get into the academy alone is 22 pages. There's also a physical exam and a pretty rigorous interview process that includes a polygraph.

The academy is itself is sixth months long. Those who pass become probationary police officers.

You can find more information about KPD's hiring process here.

Look for a full story on the graduation in tomorrow's Killeen Daily Herald.

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Tuesday 07/29/2014

Morning Roundup

Thursday 07/24/2014

KPD Community Forum Tonight

Tuesday 07/22/2014

Morning Roundup 7/22/2014

Monday 07/21/2014

Morning Roundupp 7/21/14

Thursday 07/17/2014

Morning Roundup 7/17/14

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Morning Roundup 7/16/14

Tuesday 07/15/2014

Morning Roundup

Friday 07/11/2014

Morning Roundup 7/11/14

Thursday 07/10/2014

Reporting On Tradgedy Morning Roundup 7/10/14

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Man Drowns In Belton Lake KPD To Welcome New Officers Morning Roundup 7/9/14

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Lethal Drugs In Texas: A History SXSW Suspect No Show In Austin Court Morning Roundup 7/8/14

Thursday 07/03/2014

Morning Crime Roundup 7/3/14

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Local Criminals Using Craigslist To Find Potential Victims Morning Roundup 7/2/14

Tuesday 07/01/2014

Man Killed In Accidental Shooting In Harker Heights. Local Reaction To SCOTUS' Hobby Lobby Decision Bell County Wanted Fugitives Morning Roundup 7/1/14

Monday 06/30/2014

Explosion On Coryell Co. farm kills one, injures two It's Fireworks Season Morning Crime Roundup

Friday 06/27/2014

KPD Confirms Purchase Of Military-Style Carbines Morning Crime Roundup 6/27/14

Thursday 06/26/2014

Chris McGuinness Case Files Is Back

Wednesday 08/28/2013

Morning report: Aug. 28

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Morning report: Aug. 27

Monday 08/26/2013

Morning report: Aug. 26

Friday 08/23/2013

Morning report: Aug. 23

Thursday 08/22/2013

Morning report: Aug. 22

Wednesday 08/21/2013

Morning report: Aug. 21

Tuesday 08/20/2013

Morning report: Aug. 20

Monday 08/19/2013

Morning report: Aug. 19

Friday 08/16/2013

Morning report: Aug. 16

Thursday 08/15/2013

Morning report: Aug. 15

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Morning report: Aug. 14

Tuesday 08/13/2013

Morning report: Aug. 13

Monday 08/12/2013

Morning report: Aug. 12

Friday 08/09/2013

Morning report: Aug. 9

Thursday 08/08/2013

Morning report: Aug. 8

Wednesday 08/07/2013

Morning report: Aug. 7

Tuesday 08/06/2013

Morning report: Aug. 6

Monday 08/05/2013

Morning report: Aug. 5

Friday 08/02/2013

Morning report: Aug. 2

Wednesday 07/31/2013

Midday report: July 31

Featured Events