• December 25, 2014

Midday report: July 9

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, July 9, 2013 7:45 am | Updated: 2:13 pm, Thu Jan 23, 2014.

Here's a summary of what happened this morning.

I must admit a bit of a sense of pride for having one of my articles entered into the permanent record of Maj. Nidal Hasan's capital murder court-martial.

I'll explain how that came about. The prosecution entered in Appellate Exhibit #364. The exhibit is a copy of this article "Accused Fort Hood shooter releases copy of trial delay request" along with the actual document Hasan authorized to be given to me.

The issue before the court was that Hasan was never authorized to make the document public. It was filed under seal. Presiding judge Col. Tara Osborn said Hasan could ask her to allow sealed documents to be made public, but first needed the court's permission.

"You did violate a court order. Again, a reminder, you need to follow the rules and repeated violations may jeopardize your pro se status," she said, referring to Hasan's right to represent himself.

We are on break right now and will be back in court at 2:30 p.m. for jury selection to begin in earnest.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Tuesday 07/29/2014

Morning Roundup

Thursday 07/24/2014

KPD Community Forum Tonight

Tuesday 07/22/2014

Morning Roundup 7/22/2014

Monday 07/21/2014

Morning Roundupp 7/21/14

Thursday 07/17/2014

Morning Roundup 7/17/14

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Morning Roundup 7/16/14

Tuesday 07/15/2014

Morning Roundup

Friday 07/11/2014

Morning Roundup 7/11/14

Thursday 07/10/2014

Reporting On Tradgedy Morning Roundup 7/10/14

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Man Drowns In Belton Lake KPD To Welcome New Officers Morning Roundup 7/9/14

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Lethal Drugs In Texas: A History SXSW Suspect No Show In Austin Court Morning Roundup 7/8/14

Thursday 07/03/2014

Morning Crime Roundup 7/3/14

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Local Criminals Using Craigslist To Find Potential Victims Morning Roundup 7/2/14

Tuesday 07/01/2014

Man Killed In Accidental Shooting In Harker Heights. Local Reaction To SCOTUS' Hobby Lobby Decision Bell County Wanted Fugitives Morning Roundup 7/1/14

Monday 06/30/2014

Explosion On Coryell Co. farm kills one, injures two It's Fireworks Season Morning Crime Roundup

Friday 06/27/2014

KPD Confirms Purchase Of Military-Style Carbines Morning Crime Roundup 6/27/14

Thursday 06/26/2014

Chris McGuinness Case Files Is Back

Wednesday 08/28/2013

Morning report: Aug. 28

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Morning report: Aug. 27

Monday 08/26/2013

Morning report: Aug. 26

Friday 08/23/2013

Morning report: Aug. 23

Thursday 08/22/2013

Morning report: Aug. 22

Wednesday 08/21/2013

Morning report: Aug. 21

Tuesday 08/20/2013

Morning report: Aug. 20

Monday 08/19/2013

Morning report: Aug. 19

Friday 08/16/2013

Morning report: Aug. 16

Thursday 08/15/2013

Morning report: Aug. 15

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Morning report: Aug. 14

Tuesday 08/13/2013

Morning report: Aug. 13

Monday 08/12/2013

Morning report: Aug. 12

Friday 08/09/2013

Morning report: Aug. 9

Thursday 08/08/2013

Morning report: Aug. 8

Wednesday 08/07/2013

Morning report: Aug. 7

Tuesday 08/06/2013

Morning report: Aug. 6

Monday 08/05/2013

Morning report: Aug. 5

Friday 08/02/2013

Morning report: Aug. 2

Wednesday 07/31/2013

Midday report: July 31