• September 2, 2014

Midday report: July 25

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, July 25, 2013 1:24 pm | Updated: 2:13 pm, Thu Jan 23, 2014.

Maj. Nidal Hasan is back in court today for what should one of the last pretrial hearings before his trial begins on Aug. 6. There's really no clues to what will happen in court today. It has been billed as a house cleaning sort of hearing, where the judge, Hasan and lawyers should iron out some logistics of what should be a massive court-martial.

Though the jury was set last week, to prepare for the large amount of travel involved in bringing upwards of 270 witnesses to the trial, presiding judge Col. Tara Osborn has left the trial set at Aug. 6.

In today's paper, I wrote this piece about how some lawmakers in Washington D.C. are attempting to end the military's practice of continually paying soldiers who are charged but not yet convicted of violent crimes. It is a reaction to revelations that Hasan has continued to draw pay from the government, amassing more than $270,000 in income since the mass shooting on post.

Media round-up:

A small crowd here today. We've got local TV, a reporter from the San Antonio Express-News and a blogger here who calls himself "The Legendary."

The Washington Times has a similar article to mine about the bill to cut Hasan's pay here.

ABC News also cover the bill, which its sponsors are calling the "Stop Pay for Violent Offenders Act." ABC's story is here.

The Air Force Times also picked up on the story, but misspelled Hasan. We're all human.

I will be watching today's hearing from the auxiliary court room beside the media center at Club Hood. Follow me on Twitter @KDHcrime for up-to-the-minute updates.

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Tuesday 07/29/2014

Morning Roundup

Thursday 07/24/2014

KPD Community Forum Tonight

Tuesday 07/22/2014

Morning Roundup 7/22/2014

Monday 07/21/2014

Morning Roundupp 7/21/14

Thursday 07/17/2014

Morning Roundup 7/17/14

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Morning Roundup 7/16/14

Tuesday 07/15/2014

Morning Roundup

Friday 07/11/2014

Morning Roundup 7/11/14

Thursday 07/10/2014

Reporting On Tradgedy Morning Roundup 7/10/14

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Man Drowns In Belton Lake KPD To Welcome New Officers Morning Roundup 7/9/14

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Lethal Drugs In Texas: A History SXSW Suspect No Show In Austin Court Morning Roundup 7/8/14

Thursday 07/03/2014

Morning Crime Roundup 7/3/14

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Local Criminals Using Craigslist To Find Potential Victims Morning Roundup 7/2/14

Tuesday 07/01/2014

Man Killed In Accidental Shooting In Harker Heights. Local Reaction To SCOTUS' Hobby Lobby Decision Bell County Wanted Fugitives Morning Roundup 7/1/14

Monday 06/30/2014

Explosion On Coryell Co. farm kills one, injures two It's Fireworks Season Morning Crime Roundup

Friday 06/27/2014

KPD Confirms Purchase Of Military-Style Carbines Morning Crime Roundup 6/27/14

Thursday 06/26/2014

Chris McGuinness Case Files Is Back

Wednesday 08/28/2013

Morning report: Aug. 28

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Morning report: Aug. 27

Monday 08/26/2013

Morning report: Aug. 26

Friday 08/23/2013

Morning report: Aug. 23

Thursday 08/22/2013

Morning report: Aug. 22

Wednesday 08/21/2013

Morning report: Aug. 21

Tuesday 08/20/2013

Morning report: Aug. 20

Monday 08/19/2013

Morning report: Aug. 19

Friday 08/16/2013

Morning report: Aug. 16

Thursday 08/15/2013

Morning report: Aug. 15

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Morning report: Aug. 14

Tuesday 08/13/2013

Morning report: Aug. 13

Monday 08/12/2013

Morning report: Aug. 12

Friday 08/09/2013

Morning report: Aug. 9

Thursday 08/08/2013

Morning report: Aug. 8

Wednesday 08/07/2013

Morning report: Aug. 7

Tuesday 08/06/2013

Morning report: Aug. 6

Monday 08/05/2013

Morning report: Aug. 5

Friday 08/02/2013

Morning report: Aug. 2

Wednesday 07/31/2013

Midday report: July 31