• September 2, 2014

Morning/midday report: June 11

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, June 11, 2013 11:41 am | Updated: 2:13 pm, Thu Jan 23, 2014.

Going to watch hearings from the auxiliary courtroom today and give that a shot. That should allow for more live tweeting than usual. So if you haven't yet, follow me @KDHcrime. I will hashtag everything with #Hasan.

So today, we should get a more detailed glimpse into the "defense of others" accused Fort Hood shooter Maj. Nidal Hasan plans to put on during trial. Hasan has been asked to provide further information about his defense strategy to weigh whether he should be given a delay to the start date of his death penalty court-martial.

Hasan's macabre defense is that he admittedly killed U.S. Army soldiers in order to defend Taliban fighters in Afghanistan, their leadership and specifically their spiritual leader Mullah Mohammed Omar. The defense, in this reporter's opinion, is ironic. As Killeen resident Michael Homiller put it in this letter to the editor, his defense "fits the literal constitutional definition of treason."

Here is my write up for today's hearing.

Media round-up:

Reuter's write up via the Chicago Tribune is mainly summary, though Texas Tech law professor Richard Rosen, a retired colonel who was assigned to Fort Hood's JAG, says Hasan's defense of others is "like an American soldier shooting fellow GIs during World War Two, and then asserting that he was only trying to protect the Nazi leadership."

Most other media outlets used the standard Associated Press write-up.

AP sketch artist is here along with reporters from the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Austin American-Statesman and local television outlets.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Tuesday 07/29/2014

Morning Roundup

Thursday 07/24/2014

KPD Community Forum Tonight

Tuesday 07/22/2014

Morning Roundup 7/22/2014

Monday 07/21/2014

Morning Roundupp 7/21/14

Thursday 07/17/2014

Morning Roundup 7/17/14

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Morning Roundup 7/16/14

Tuesday 07/15/2014

Morning Roundup

Friday 07/11/2014

Morning Roundup 7/11/14

Thursday 07/10/2014

Reporting On Tradgedy Morning Roundup 7/10/14

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Man Drowns In Belton Lake KPD To Welcome New Officers Morning Roundup 7/9/14

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Lethal Drugs In Texas: A History SXSW Suspect No Show In Austin Court Morning Roundup 7/8/14

Thursday 07/03/2014

Morning Crime Roundup 7/3/14

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Local Criminals Using Craigslist To Find Potential Victims Morning Roundup 7/2/14

Tuesday 07/01/2014

Man Killed In Accidental Shooting In Harker Heights. Local Reaction To SCOTUS' Hobby Lobby Decision Bell County Wanted Fugitives Morning Roundup 7/1/14

Monday 06/30/2014

Explosion On Coryell Co. farm kills one, injures two It's Fireworks Season Morning Crime Roundup

Friday 06/27/2014

KPD Confirms Purchase Of Military-Style Carbines Morning Crime Roundup 6/27/14

Thursday 06/26/2014

Chris McGuinness Case Files Is Back

Wednesday 08/28/2013

Morning report: Aug. 28

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Morning report: Aug. 27

Monday 08/26/2013

Morning report: Aug. 26

Friday 08/23/2013

Morning report: Aug. 23

Thursday 08/22/2013

Morning report: Aug. 22

Wednesday 08/21/2013

Morning report: Aug. 21

Tuesday 08/20/2013

Morning report: Aug. 20

Monday 08/19/2013

Morning report: Aug. 19

Friday 08/16/2013

Morning report: Aug. 16

Thursday 08/15/2013

Morning report: Aug. 15

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Morning report: Aug. 14

Tuesday 08/13/2013

Morning report: Aug. 13

Monday 08/12/2013

Morning report: Aug. 12

Friday 08/09/2013

Morning report: Aug. 9

Thursday 08/08/2013

Morning report: Aug. 8

Wednesday 08/07/2013

Morning report: Aug. 7

Tuesday 08/06/2013

Morning report: Aug. 6

Monday 08/05/2013

Morning report: Aug. 5

Friday 08/02/2013

Morning report: Aug. 2

Wednesday 07/31/2013

Midday report: July 31