• December 22, 2014

Morning report: Aug. 15

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, August 15, 2013 7:21 am | Updated: 2:13 pm, Thu Jan 23, 2014.

I'm back on the Great Place this morning for the eighth day of Maj. Nidal Hasan's capital murder court-martial.

Today's hearing will be dominated by more testimony from forensic pathologists who will present the autopsies of six more deceased victims. The testimony has been dry and clinical, yet still graphic. Doctors from the U.S. Air Force and Army have described the gunshot wounds that killed victims of the Fort Hood shooting with chilling precision. Their testimony has also slowed the pace of the trial, with only three witnesses testifying Wednesday. Each witness gives the foundation for prosecutors to enter scores of photos and diagrams for each victim. My coverage of Wednesday's hearing can be read here.

I will be sending in periodic updates from Fort Hood throughout the day. Up-to-the-minute updates can also be found on my Twitter feed @KDHcrime.

Media report:

Thirty-three reporters, producers and photographers are here from various agencies. The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Austin American-Statesman, San Antonio Express-News, the Associated Press, Reuter's, Stars and Stripes, Fox News, CNN, regional and local network affiliates are here along with a blogger who calls himself "The Legendary."

The Christian Science Monitor states "Maj. Nidal Hasan appears to be stoically slouching toward martyrdom at his court-martial – instead of using the trial as a soapbox to spout jihadist ideology." A minor error in otherwise a nicely written summary piece is that Hasan killed 13 "fellow soldiers." He killed 12 soldiers and one civilian, retired Chief Warrant Officer Michael Cahill.

The Houston Chronicle notes that Hasan's damning sanity report is available to everyone but "the three military lawyers who are prosecuting him."

The Associated Press via boston.com writes that several of the victims appeared to have been shot while lying on the ground.

The AP via the Washington Post also has a nice piece focusing on the lead prosecutor Col. Mike Mulligan's need to manage the case in an effort to limit the possibility of an appeal. Mulligan, it states, is "a rarity in the military justice system: a prosecutor who has successfully put a soldier on death row. Mulligan prosecuted Hasan Akbar, a soldier condemned for killing two in an attack on fellow soldiers in Kuwait during the 2003 Iraq invasion."

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Tuesday 07/29/2014

Morning Roundup

Thursday 07/24/2014

KPD Community Forum Tonight

Tuesday 07/22/2014

Morning Roundup 7/22/2014

Monday 07/21/2014

Morning Roundupp 7/21/14

Thursday 07/17/2014

Morning Roundup 7/17/14

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Morning Roundup 7/16/14

Tuesday 07/15/2014

Morning Roundup

Friday 07/11/2014

Morning Roundup 7/11/14

Thursday 07/10/2014

Reporting On Tradgedy Morning Roundup 7/10/14

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Man Drowns In Belton Lake KPD To Welcome New Officers Morning Roundup 7/9/14

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Lethal Drugs In Texas: A History SXSW Suspect No Show In Austin Court Morning Roundup 7/8/14

Thursday 07/03/2014

Morning Crime Roundup 7/3/14

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Local Criminals Using Craigslist To Find Potential Victims Morning Roundup 7/2/14

Tuesday 07/01/2014

Man Killed In Accidental Shooting In Harker Heights. Local Reaction To SCOTUS' Hobby Lobby Decision Bell County Wanted Fugitives Morning Roundup 7/1/14

Monday 06/30/2014

Explosion On Coryell Co. farm kills one, injures two It's Fireworks Season Morning Crime Roundup

Friday 06/27/2014

KPD Confirms Purchase Of Military-Style Carbines Morning Crime Roundup 6/27/14

Thursday 06/26/2014

Chris McGuinness Case Files Is Back

Wednesday 08/28/2013

Morning report: Aug. 28

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Morning report: Aug. 27

Monday 08/26/2013

Morning report: Aug. 26

Friday 08/23/2013

Morning report: Aug. 23

Thursday 08/22/2013

Morning report: Aug. 22

Wednesday 08/21/2013

Morning report: Aug. 21

Tuesday 08/20/2013

Morning report: Aug. 20

Monday 08/19/2013

Morning report: Aug. 19

Friday 08/16/2013

Morning report: Aug. 16

Thursday 08/15/2013

Morning report: Aug. 15

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Morning report: Aug. 14

Tuesday 08/13/2013

Morning report: Aug. 13

Monday 08/12/2013

Morning report: Aug. 12

Friday 08/09/2013

Morning report: Aug. 9

Thursday 08/08/2013

Morning report: Aug. 8

Wednesday 08/07/2013

Morning report: Aug. 7

Tuesday 08/06/2013

Morning report: Aug. 6

Monday 08/05/2013

Morning report: Aug. 5

Friday 08/02/2013

Morning report: Aug. 2

Wednesday 07/31/2013

Midday report: July 31