• July 24, 2014

Morning report: May 29 hearing for accused Fort Hood shooter

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, May 29, 2013 7:51 am | Updated: 2:13 pm, Thu Jan 23, 2014.

It's about 8 a.m. and everyone is milling about waiting for today's hearing on whether accused Fort Hood shooter Maj. Nidal Hasan to begin. The media presence, though increased, is not as large as I expected. However, enough reporters signed up that only a select few will be allowed in the courtroom. I will be in there today.

We have been given instructions as to what to do should an "event" happen, meaning some sort of bombing. It's slightly unnerving, but expected.

For a brief on what to expect today check here. But the bottom line is, no one knows really what to expect.

At the end of that article, I mention that the judge may prevent a defendant from representing them self if he or she "is disruptive or fails to follow basic rules of decorum and procedure." This could come into play if Hasan chooses to use the courtroom as a forum for political speech.

Given the unpredictable turns this case has taken in the year and a half I've covered it, you'll get no predictions from me.

Area coverage:

WFAA (D-FW ABC affiliate) has a round-up story quoting a a former lead defense attorney in the U.S. Marine Corps who says of Hasan's request to go pro se: "I sort of see it as an act of defiance against the trial process.”

Reuters via Yahoo has another story with mostly background information that briefly touches on the connections between Hasan and Anwar al'Awlaki.

Associated Press via KTRK (ABC Houston) has a very brief article about the hearing.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.

Thursday 07/24/2014

KPD Community Forum Tonight

Tuesday 07/22/2014

Morning Roundup 7/22/2014

Monday 07/21/2014

Morning Roundupp 7/21/14

Thursday 07/17/2014

Morning Roundup 7/17/14

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Morning Roundup 7/16/14

Tuesday 07/15/2014

Morning Roundup

Friday 07/11/2014

Morning Roundup 7/11/14

Thursday 07/10/2014

Reporting On Tradgedy Morning Roundup 7/10/14

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Man Drowns In Belton Lake KPD To Welcome New Officers Morning Roundup 7/9/14

Tuesday 07/08/2014

Lethal Drugs In Texas: A History SXSW Suspect No Show In Austin Court Morning Roundup 7/8/14

Thursday 07/03/2014

Morning Crime Roundup 7/3/14

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Local Criminals Using Craigslist To Find Potential Victims Morning Roundup 7/2/14

Tuesday 07/01/2014

Man Killed In Accidental Shooting In Harker Heights. Local Reaction To SCOTUS' Hobby Lobby Decision Bell County Wanted Fugitives Morning Roundup 7/1/14

Monday 06/30/2014

Explosion On Coryell Co. farm kills one, injures two It's Fireworks Season Morning Crime Roundup

Friday 06/27/2014

KPD Confirms Purchase Of Military-Style Carbines Morning Crime Roundup 6/27/14

Thursday 06/26/2014

Chris McGuinness Case Files Is Back

Wednesday 08/28/2013

Morning report: Aug. 28

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Morning report: Aug. 27

Monday 08/26/2013

Morning report: Aug. 26

Friday 08/23/2013

Morning report: Aug. 23

Thursday 08/22/2013

Morning report: Aug. 22

Wednesday 08/21/2013

Morning report: Aug. 21

Tuesday 08/20/2013

Morning report: Aug. 20

Monday 08/19/2013

Morning report: Aug. 19

Friday 08/16/2013

Morning report: Aug. 16

Thursday 08/15/2013

Morning report: Aug. 15

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Morning report: Aug. 14

Tuesday 08/13/2013

Morning report: Aug. 13

Monday 08/12/2013

Morning report: Aug. 12

Friday 08/09/2013

Morning report: Aug. 9

Thursday 08/08/2013

Morning report: Aug. 8

Wednesday 08/07/2013

Morning report: Aug. 7

Tuesday 08/06/2013

Morning report: Aug. 6

Monday 08/05/2013

Morning report: Aug. 5

Friday 08/02/2013

Morning report: Aug. 2

Wednesday 07/31/2013

Midday report: July 31

Monday 07/29/2013

Fox News's "exclusive statement" from Hasan is not what it seems