• December 19, 2014

Thanksgiving dinner guest from hell: Part I

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Sunday, November 24, 2013 10:00 am

The holidays are a particularly difficult time for people with allergies. We want to partake in the festivities and great food, but the consequences aren’t usually worth it. I do indulge sometimes but over the course of the holiday season the constant consumption of wheat, dairy, eggs, soy, peanuts and highly refined foods are simply too much for my body.

How do you plan for guests like me? What steps do you take to ensure we have a pleasant experience?

I saw a cartoon once from the New York Times where all 10 Thanksgiving guests had different allergies or diet restrictions that made it impossible for the host to cater to them.  Here’s some of those examples and how you can plan accordingly:  

Lactose-intolerant: No dairy products, such as milk and milk-based products including creams, butter, yogurt and cheese (some people can’t tolerate soy or eggs, either). It’s best to ask what they can eat and if they’ll like to bring a dish they can have. Some can eat small amounts of these products in a dish or two, but more simply can’t have it in any form. Lactose is often found in boxed, canned, frozen, packaged and prepared foods. Opt for salads and sides such as green beans. Olive oil and lemon (with sea salt) also makes a great natural dressing substitute.

Vegan: No meat, dairy, eggs, seafood for most or any processed foods containing animal-derived ingredients including highly-refined foods. Raw meals and plant foods work best. There are great recipes that other guests would enjoy that fall in this category; check bookstores or go online. Include nuts and seeds, lightly steamed vegetables, and raw veggies for dinner. Some vegetarians will enjoy the sides such as stuffing, tofu, pumpkins, etc., based on the ingredients, of course.

Lacto-ovo-vegetarian: No beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh, but eggs and dairy products are fine. Note: a lacto-vegetarian eats eggs but not dairy products, and an ovo-vegetarian doesn’t eat meat or dairy but eats eggs.

Do know anyone with allergies? What are some of the meals you’ve prepared for them? Are there dishes all of your guests enjoyed as well?

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.