GATESVILLE — The Coryell County Economic Development Board on Monday voted to expand its membership from seven to 12 and to create an executive committee to help shape the group’s agenda.

The board currently has five members appointed by the county commissioners court with the approval of the board, and two at-large members selected by the board with approval from the commissioners court.

At the request of board President Dick Van Dyke, the board created an executive committee composed of board officers and other members appointed by the president, with a total not to exceed a board quorum.

Van Dyke said the new committee would help him determine items to be placed on the board agenda but, because they would not form a quorum, would not make final decisions and would not have to comply with requirements of public meetings.

The board directed the nominations committee, chaired by Barbara Burrow, to present options for selecting the new members of the expanded board.

Contact Tim Orwig at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.