From staff reports

Voters in Coryell County chose to have a new Republican represent them in Texas House District 59 during a runoff election Tuesday.

In a tightly contested race for the Republican spot on November's ballot, J.D. Sheffield pushed out incumbent District 59 state Rep. Sid Miller.

Sheffield, the medical director at Coryell Medical Clinic in Gatesville, had 55 percent of the total 15,186 votes cast, according to unofficial results.

Out of 4,684 votes in Coryell County, he captured 73 percent.

Sheffield, who lost to Miller in 2010, seized on a wave of discontent with incumbents in the Republican primary to force his way into Tuesday's runoff and defeat Miller in the rematch.

Sheffield will face Democratic candidate Bill Norris, an educator from Dublin, in November.

In the only county government seat up for grabs Tuesday, Jack Wall brought in 57 percent of the total vote, and will continue serving as Coryell County's Precinct 1 commissioner.

"I feel really good," said Wall after unofficial results were released Tuesday night. "I'm glad God and the voters of Coryell County put me back."

In final, unofficial totals Tuesday, Wall received 695 votes to 521 for challenger Larry Riddle.

More than 700 voters turned out for early voting, with 57 percent of the votes going to Wall.

On election day 429 more votes were counted and Wall claimed 56 percent of them. Wall also garnered 57 percent of the 84 absentee ballots cast.

Wall has served on the commissioners court for 15 years and has been a voice for residents on issues such as roads during that time.

"We've got a lot of projects started for our county and we may get some of them done," said Wall about looking forward to his next four years as commissioner.

Statewide results

In other Republican primary runoff results Tuesday, Ted Cruz pulled a surprise win over Lt. Gov. David Dewhust to earn the Republican nomination for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison.

Roger Williams defeated Wes Riddle in the race for U.S. Representative, District 25.

Christi Craddick defeated Warren Chisum for Railroad Commissioner.

Incumbent Barry Smitherman defeated Greg Paker for Railroad Commissioner (unexpired term).

John Devine defeated David Medina in the Supreme Court Justice race.

Several face Democratic challengers on Nov. 6.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.