By Alicia Lacy

The Cove Herald

The saga continues as another election is in the horizon for Copperas Cove following two special elections already this year, with familiar names on the ballot.

Copperas Cove voters will vote on May 9 to elect the mayor and city council places 1 and 2, in addition to the Copperas Cove Independent School District board election for places 1 and 2.

The current Cove mayor, former Coryell County Judge John Hull, has filed for the seat along with ousted mayor Roger "Odie" O'Dwyer.

O'Dwyer was voted out by the council last March in a 6-1 vote at a special meeting following an 11-hour administrative hearing for charter violations.

Following O'Dwyer's ejection by the council, he put his name in the hat to reclaim his seat as mayor against Hull for the Nov. 4 election.

On Nov. 4, Hull defeated the city's former mayor, garnering 4,186 votes to O'Dwyer's 3,512.

Place 1 Councilwoman Cheryl Meredith has filed for her seat, running unopposed.

Meredith ran in the Feb. 10 special election against former Councilman Charlie Youngs. Meredith narrowly defeated Youngs, winning the seat.

Two former council members, Charlie Youngs and Mark Peterson, are both vying for the Place 2 seat, which is currently held by Larry Sheppard who does not intend to run for reelection.

Peterson was recalled in the Nov. 4 election as a result of a petition from Cove resident Diane Steele, who began collecting signatures from residents on May 27.

CCISD board of trustees Place 1 board member Inez Faison and Place 2 board member Bob Weiss have both filed for re-election. Both incumbents are running unopposed, so the district can cancel their election.

While the city prepares for this election, early voting began last Thursday for the Place 5 runoff election with Bill Stephens and David Wilson.

Stephens and Wilson ran in the Feb. 10 election for Place 5, but because none of the three candidates running for the Place 5 seat received a majority vote, the two highest vote-getters, Stephens and Wilson, are running in the special election to fill the seat. The term for Place 5 ends June 2010.

Stephens pulled in 591 votes, or 44.5 percent of the vote. Wilson received 428 votes, or 32.3 percent, and Konrad Kohler garnered 308 votes, or 23.2 percent.

Contact Alicia Lacy at or (254) 501-7476.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.