The charter members of the Excel Club were pinned by during the Installation of Members Exchange ceremony. (Left to right) Faculty Adviser Barbara Considine, CCHS Student Chevonne Charmont and Noon Exchange Club Past President Mike Blount.

Courtesy of Susan Ayres

Seventeen Copperas Cove High School students were inducted into the new Excel Club of Copperas Cove during an installation ceremony at its first official meeting March 7.

Mike Blount, past president of the Noon Exchange Club, began the meeting by introducing Earnest Remedies, the district volunteer field representative. Remedies read a welcome letter signed by members of the national foundation.

“The club was first organized in Detroit Michigan by business leaders who came together to exchange ideas and work to make communities better,” Remedies said about the club’s history. “The benefits of joining are to develop leadership skills, to enjoy new friendships and to help build a better America.”

The Excel Club’s role and responsibility involves members attending meetings, sharing talents and helping others in their school and community, Remedies said.

The charter members were pinned by Blount and Barbara Considine, a faculty advisor.

Dennis Ayres, president of the Noon Exchange Club and Excel Club builder, said the club’s goals mirrors the National Exchange Club goals of promoting patriotism, creating awareness for the prevention of child abuse, and volunteerism.

Locally, the Excel Club will work with its sponsor, the Noon Exchange Club, to complete various projects including the city’s Feast of Sharing, the Quad City Ride for a Child fundraiser and the Noon Exchange Club’s Volksmarch for Awareness and Prevention of Child Abuse.

They will also participate in cleanup projects at the Exchange Sunshine Home during Make a Difference Day.

The club also will develop their own fundraising events as determined through meetings and decisions made by its board of directors.

The CCHS Excel Club banner, bell and gavel will be given to the student club during the charter banquet in April, when the Exchange Club charter awards will be presented.

Club officers also will be inducted during the banquet and bylaws will be approved at a later date.

Charter members

The charter members of the Excel Club are Elijah Santos, Lily Drever, Emily Drever, Chevonne Charmont, Niomi Charmont, Chris Hastings, Selena Romero, Destiny Frank, Jeremiah Rest, Carlee Duran, Amanda Arrisala, Kamryn Mayberry, Nathan Posey, Mackensi Holt, Anthony May, Isaac Griffin, and Makara Stofferahn.

The next Excel meeting will be determined by the club president, faculty advisers and Noon Exchange Club advisers.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.