GATESVILLE — Coryell County government started the new year Wednesday as 11 elected officials took the oath of office.

Justice Rex Davis of the 10th Circuit Court of Criminal Appeals administered the oaths at an 11 a.m. ceremony in the 52nd Judicial District courtroom in the County Courthouse.

Ten officials who were re-elected in November took the oath as a group. All 10 were uncontested on the ballot.

Dusty Boyd, who was elected district attorney for the first time in the fall election, was sworn in separately with his wife, Jennifer, at his side.

Boyd defeated incumbent District Attorney David Castillo in the Republican primary and was unopposed in the general election.

Boyd, who was previously an assistant county attorney, moved into his new office this week.

The other officials returned to business as usual after the ceremony.

Officials sworn in to new terms of office after their uncontested election were Judge Trent Farrell of the 52nd Judicial District, Commissioners Don Jones (Precinct 3) and Jack Wall (Precinct 1), Tax Assessor/Collector Justin Carothers, Sheriff Johnny Burks, County Attorney Brandon Belt, and Constables Roger Hammack (Precinct 4), David White (Precinct 3), Shawn Camp (Precinct 2) and Roger Faught (Precinct 1).

Contact Tim Orwig at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.