The cafeteria filled with applause as the inductees rose from their seats demonstrating the future of Copperas Cove Junior High’s chapter of the National Junior Honor Society.

The spring induction ceremony for CCJHS’s welcomed 29 new members and appointed seven new officers under the advisement of teacher Veronica Sheon.

The ceremony included many parts, but the beginning section was a brief history of the organization, a candle lighting ceremony, and the pledge of National Junior Honor Society.

NJHS was first started in 1929 to recognize the amazing qualities of students in secondary schools. To be accepted, a student must obtain five basic elements including scholarship, leadership, citizenship, service, and character. For each of the elements, a candle was lit at the ceremony.

“This upcoming year, I am looking forward to working along with the NJHS students in the community. I’m hoping they can build up a more positive atmosphere in our school.” Sheon said.

The main point of the induction ceremony was accepting the new members and appointing the new officers. The president’s duty is to run the society. President John Gorres’ main focus, however, will mostly be on running meetings and trying to achieve the goal set.

“I would really like to get more school-based projects going,” Gorres said. “Also, I would like to have city cleanups as well.”

Last year, the CCJHS National Junior Honor Society participated in several community service projects including the Howl-O-Ween Puppy Pawlooza, Relay for Life, Food for Families and many other causes.

The National Junior Honor Society has chapters in middle schools with National Honor Society chapters found in high schools. Both organizations were founded by the National Association of Secondary School Principals and today have chapters in the United States, Puerto Rico and Canada. Common membership requirements include maintaining a GPA of 3.5 or higher, participation in community service projects and meeting required monthly service hours.

National Junior Honor Socity inductees

The Copperas Cove Junior High National Junior Honor Society inducted 29 new members including Radhika Amin, Whitney Bennett, Kaylee Dodd, Jasmine Hill, Adam Hirsch, William Jarvis, Aubrey Johnson, Isabella Johnston, Christian Lachica, Dominique Laxamana, Elliott Lowman, Olivia Martin, Kenai Martinez, Emma Moris, Sophia Ortiz, Shreya Patel, Sentry Price, Abigail Richmond, Mary Ritchie, Perise Sasa, Harley Shehane, Mikayla Sheon, Jazzmine Sims, Ella Steele, Deryk Tantiangco, Minh Tran, Sofia Vega, Haley Wang, and Anna Wiger.

The 2017-2018 officers

  • President: John Gorres
  • First Vice President: Emily Schultze
  • Second Vice President: Justin Delgado
  • Treasurer: Jasmin Addy
  • Secretary: Allyssa Kimball
  • Reporter: Ariel Draper
  • Parliamentarian: Jimena Figueroa

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.