This year the Welch Foundation selected five teachers for an appreciation award based on student input.

After a week of taking students applications, Sheryl Bierschwale, Angela Jandreau, Patina Harrell, Dejah Bushong and Kristen Prosper were named the recipients of the awards. Each of the teachers received the most nominations from students and were presented Monday with a certificate and $100.

For more than a decade, the Welch Foundation has been awarding scholarships to Copperas Cove Independent School District students. This year, Jack Welch, president of the foundation, said the board decided to extend its support of education with teacher appreciation awards.

“This is just a simple way to say thank you for what they do,” said Welch.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.