Rashard Odomes is the new 8-5A Offensive Player of the Year, but he might be equally deserving of an award for most improved player.

After filling a complementary role to then-senior Cory Scott, who averaged 24.3 points last season, while guiding Copperas Cove to its first playoff appearance in five years, Odomes quickly replaced his former teammate as the district’s most dominant scorer.

Following a standout junior campaign, Odomes received the honor Wednesday, when the 8-5A All-District Teams were revealed. The accolade comes one season after Odomes was placed on the all-district second team.

But Odomes was not the only Bulldawg to make tremendous strides this season.

Montre’ Williams did not even receive an honorable mention following the 2012-13 season, but as a senior, he was Copperas Cove’s lone first-team selection. In the Bulldawgs’ postseason opener against Duncanville, he proved why, scoring a game-high 26 points in defeat.

Three Bulldawgs landed on the second team, including seniors Johnathan Brown and Elijah Sobers and junior Chance Smith. Like Williams, none of the trio received any recognition on last year’s all-district teams.

Copperas Cove went 18-15 overall this season, and finished third in the standings following a 2-5 start to district play.

The Bulldawgs rebounded to win six of their final seven games, clinching a playoff berth on Sobers’ buzzer-beating shot in overtime of the regular-season finale against Shoemaker. They went on to beat Killeen in a third-place tiebreaker, but could not upset the Panthers in the bi-district round.

Harker Heights dominated the district superlatives as Josh DeLaney was named MVP and his brother Cameron DeLaney received the defensive player of the year award to go with two first-team selections — C.J. Bobbitt and Cody Halvorson.

Ellison’s Isaiah Stevenson and Shoemaker’s Tyrone Williams split the newcomer of the year award, while Demarius Cress was named sixth man of the year.

Harker Heights’ Celneque Bobbitt and Shoemaker’s Emund Pritchett shared coach of the year honors.

Rounding out the first team was Braden Hammond, of Belton, Shoemaker duo Shane Johnson and Torenzo Saunders, Ellison’s Ronnie Edwards, Midway’s Nic Jones and Killeen’s Brian Long.

Copperas Cove was the only team to produce three second-team selections, but Shoemaker (Nykolas Dawson, Williams), Ellison (Shannon Bogues, Stevenson) and Killeen (Melvin Anthony, Mikell Clark) each finished with two players.

Belton’s Jackson McGowan, Harker Heights Roderick Taylor, Midway’s Jordan Colvin and Temple’s Wendale Washington also landed on the second team.

Contact Clay Whittington at clayw@kdhnews.com

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.