Penitani Paulo, Faga Paau, Pomele Koke, Hector Siaosi, Kendrick Little and Nichols Armstrong shot a combined score of 123 to win the Ben Hogan Classic golf tournament Friday at the Courses of Clear Creek.

Paulo, Paau, Koke and Siaosi shot a field-low 53 in the four-person scramble and teammates Little and Armstrong finished third as a pair in the two-person unit best ball competition with their score of 70.

Thirty six-person teams competed in the first Ben Hogan Classic tournament held at Fort Hood.

Finishing 14 strokes behind the champions, the six-person team of Frank Minnie, Wynn Hoke, Ryan Horton, Jeremy Odom, Frank Bumanglang and Phillip Shin placed second with a 137 team score.

Minnie, Hoke, Horton and Odom won their four-person scramble flight with a score of 67 and Bumanglag and Shin shot a 70 and finished second overall in the two-person unit comptition, which featured the team’s two best golfers.

Scott Swilley and Travis Lloyd shot a 69 for the best two-person unit score.

Mike Beck, Chris Beckett, Tyler Atkinson, Chris Remakis (69) won the second flight and Paul Howard, Mike Baker, Frank Tank and Chris Jacobs won the third flight (74).

Contact Kevin Posival at or (254) 501-7562

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.