Spotlight

Paloma Lopez

Paloma Nicole Lopez, 17, Harker Heights High School senior, lives in Harker Heights.

Where are you from originally?

I am originally from Puerto Rico.

What brought you to the area?

My parents got stationed here at Fort Hood. We were in Germany before coming here.

Tell me about your family.

My parents names are Robert Lopez Jr. and Vilmarie Lopez. I have two siblings, Robert Alexis and Ma Lopez ages 12 and 8.

What kind of awards and honors have you achieved?

I have received the Academic Achievement Award three times.

What college would you like to attend?

I am not exactly sure where I want to attend college. I am still in the middle of applying to multiple places.

I do know that I would like to go to a college in a city and one that has a D1 (Division I) football team.

What do you plan on studying in college?

I have always wanted to be in the diplomacy field. I plan on majoring in International Affairs and possibly go to law school after earning a master’s degree.

What kind of community work do you do?

I volunteer a lot since I am a part of my school’s National Honors Society. In fact, the next time I volunteer is this weekend in Killeen to prepare for the laying of the wreaths.

I am also a part of the Interact Club, which is a community service organization. I recently helped with sorting out donations for Hurricane Maria victims.

I am Puerto Rican, so I really wanted to do what I could to give back.

What is your favorite store in Harker Heights?

My favorite store in Harker Heights is Target.

What is your favorite restaurant in Harker Heights?

My favorite restaurant in Harker Heights is the Mexican restaurant (Taqueria) because they make really good horchata and salsa.

What was the last movie that you saw?

The last movie that I saw was actually last week and it was “Daddy’s Home.”

What was the last book that you read?

The last book that I read was Wuthering Heights, which I am reading for my English class. It isn’t the type of book I would read, but I have been enjoying it.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

In 10 years, I see myself married and with a child or two. In terms of work, I hope that by then I have a good paying job at a nonprofit organization.

If I end up going to law school, I would love to do international law and work for a big firm.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.