Madelyn Garrison, 15, lives in Harker Heights, attends Harker Heights High School.

Tell me about your family.

My dad, Michael Garrison, is in the military and he is stationed at Fort Hood. My beautiful mother is Megan Garrison and she is a stay-at-home mom. I have an older brother that is a junior at Harker Heights High and his name is Matt Garrison. Matt plays soccer for Harker Heights High. I have a younger brother named Michael and he is in the sixth grade.

Where are you from originally?

I was born in Georgia but lived all over the country. My mom’s side of the family is from New York and my dad’s side of the family is from Virginia.

What hobbies do you do?

I read, do crossword puzzles and I like playing sports.

What do you like about Harker Heights High School?

I like the teachers and the kids are all really nice.

What kind of student are you?

I am an all-around student and I make straight A’s.

What sport do you play at Harker Heights High?

I play both softball and soccer for Harker Heights High.

What do you like about Harker Heights?

Everyone seems nice and it’s not that different from where we just came from, which is Colorado.

When did you move to the Central Texas Area?

I moved to this area about 10 months ago.

What do you dislike about this area?

I don’t really dislike anything about the area but I would say I wished it would snow in the winter.

What community work do you do?

I volunteer at the Army Darnall Hospital during the summer, I donate to the Salvation Army, I volunteered at Parks and Recreation Center in Colorado Springs, and I help my dad coach baseball and soccer for my brothers teams.

What is your favorite store in Harker Heights?

My favorite store in Harker Heights is Barnes & Noble.

What is your favorite restaurant in Harker Heights?

My favorite restaurant in Harker Heights is Luigi’s (Ari’s now) I hope the food hasn’t changed with the name change.

What is your favorite clothing store in Harker Heights?

My favorite clothing store in Harker Heights is Old Navy.

What was the last movie that you saw?

The last movie that I saw was “Beauty and the Beast.”

What do you plan on studying in college?

I plan on studying something in science, preferably at a college in North Carolina.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

In 10 years, I see myself hopefully in medical school, because I want to become a doctor.

What advice would you give kids your age?

I would tell kids my age that moving is not as bad as you think it would be because people are always nice wherever you go.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.