Spotlight

Kirsten Badger

Kirsten Badger, 25, lives in Temple, works at Maurices in Harker Heights.

What brought you to the area?

I came here to be closer to my family.

Where are you from originally?

I am originally from Paris, Illinois.

How long have you been in the area?

I have been in the area since 2014.

Tell me about your family.

I am pretty close to my family; my mother, father and nieces all live here. I have five siblings and I am the youngest. My husband served in the military for seven years.

Are you married? Kids?

Yes. I am married to a great husband named Israel. I have two wonderful children: Leon, age 5, and Scarlet, age 1.

Where did you get married?

I got married in Salado.

How long have you been married?

My husband and I have been married for three years.

What do you like about your job?

I enjoy retail. I like to get to know people. I enjoy helping people when they come into the store; it makes a huge difference to make people smile when they find what they are looking for.

Your customers become like family.

What community work do you do?

I donate clothes to Goodwill.

If anyone needs anything, I am there or I will try to be. I do community things with work.

We share a customer base with other local individual retailers.

What are your hobbies?

I enjoy horseback ridding. I am a outdoors lover, I have two horses, four dogs and six chickens.

What do you like about Harker Heights?

I like the shopping centers.

What is your favorite restaurant in Harker Heights?

My favorite restaurant in Harker Heights is Cheddars. My favorite dish is the steak.

What is your favorite store to shop at in Harker Heights?

My favorite place to shop at in Harker Heights is Ross.

What do you think that Harker Heights is missing?

I think that Harker Heights is missing a McAlisters.

Harker Heights also needs more amusment, more community involvement activities, their own amusement park and just basically more family entertainment.

What are you currently going to school for?

I am currently going to school for business management at Strayer and I am attending a trade school studying phlebotomy.

What is your expected graduation date from college?

I expect to graduate from college in 2020.

What is the last movie that you saw?

The last movie that I saw was “Black Panther.”

What was the last book that you read?

The last book that I read was for school. I read my Anatomy and Physiology textbook.

What is your favorite color?

My favorite color is Tiffany blue.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

In 10 years I see myself owning a ranch and having four horses.

What advice would you give to your younger self?

Don’t get too attached to people.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.