Thirty Harker Heights residents volunteer their personal time to serve on seven different commissions, boards, and committees. Some of them hold positions in more than one of these groups.

City Council members, at their Nov. 14 meeting, met in closed session, then reassembled to announce the members and alternates of the Planning and Zoning Commission, Building Standards Commission, Zoning Board of Adjustment, Parks and Recreation Advisory Board, Library Board, Public Safety Commission and Animal Advisory Committee.

The Planning and Zoning Commission and Building Standards Commission share some of the same members and alternates.

The regular members of planning and zoning and building standards are Stephen Watford, Darrell T. Charlton, Daniel Ray Northington II and Lana “Kaye” Carey serving an unexpired term for David L. Kingsley. Alternates are Colen Wilson, Joseph M. Welch, Joshua McCann and Ken Cox.

According to City Manager David Mitchell, “Planning and Zoning and Building Standards work more as a recommending body. Before an issue comes before the council, many of them have already been considered by these commissions.”

Members of the Zoning Board of Adjustment are Chris Diem, Paul J. Pergini and David Hermosilo. Alternates are Thomas G. Wilson and Edward Paul Longhran III.

The Zoning Board of Adjustment is a quasi-judicial group that deals with variances from codes that already exist. Appeals of decisions made by this board have to be dealt with in a district court.

Parks and Recreation and Advisory Board members are Patrick W. Kerr, Heidi Heckel, Patricia Amazon Muldron Roberts and Natalie R. Austin. Alternates are Angie Wilson and Jennifer McCann.

Filling positions on the Library Board are Jessica Casey and Jeannie L. Sims. Barbara Kelly is the alternate member.

Members of the Public Safety Commission are John Footman and Jennifer McCann. Chris McClure and Shane Hodyniak II are alternates.

Serving on the Animal Advisory Committee are Dr. Brad Buckley, veterinarian; Gary Bates, pet adoption supervisor; and Susan Mooney. Alternate members are Sue Wilson, George Grammas and Finni Dirr.

Mitchell said, “Without the help of volunteers on these committees, we couldn’t accomplish what needs to be done as a city. We are very appreciative of their contribution.”

All commission and board meetings are open to the public and residents are welcome to attend.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.