• February 24, 2017

Cove’s Baptiste, Wolves’ Williams on TSWA 5A All-State first team

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Sunday, February 16, 2014 4:30 am

BRYAN — Allen junior quarterback Kyler Murray and Cedar Hill defensive lineman Xavier Washington are the players of the year on the 63rd Annual Texas Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State Football Team.

Copperas Cove wide receiver Phillip Baptiste and Shoemaker defensive back Dwayne Williams were picked to the first team. Both also were first-team selections on The Associated Press All-State Team.

Baptiste caught 113 passes for 1,556 yards and 17 touchdowns for the 6-5 Bulldawgs. Williams had 10 interceptions (two returned for TDs), blocked two kicks and forced a fumble for the 7-4 Grey Wolves.

Murray passed for 3,672 yards and 46 touchdowns in leading unbeaten Allen to the Division I state title. He added 1,283 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns.

Washington, who signed with Northwestern, had 47 tackles for losses, 42 quarterback pressures and 23 sacks for 14-2 Cedar Hill, which beat Katy for the Division II state title.

Copperas Cove quarterback Manny Harris earned honorable mention.

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.