Terrance Harris and Craig Watts may not demand a lot of attention since they play on the offensive line, but the Lone Star Conference did take notice of the West Texas A&M Buffaloes duo.

Harris and Watts both earned first team All-Lone Star Conference honors during their final season at West Texas A&M.

The linemen helped the Buffs finish with a 9-2 record, including a 4-2 conference mark during the regular season. West Texas A&M visits Indianapolis on Saturday in the NCAA Division II Tournament.

This season, Harris and Watts helped keep defenders off Buffaloes quarterback Dustin Vaughan. The senior has thrown for 4,268 yards and 42 touchdowns while compiling a 157.7 efficiency rating.

The West Texas A&M offense is averaging more than 50 points per game.

Harris is in his fifth season as a Buffalo. The former Harker Heights standout was granted an extra year of eligibility this season after sustaining a shoulder injury in 2012 that ended his season.

The 6-foot-4, 285-pound tackle earned all District 13-5A first team honors on offense and was a defensive second-teamer while at Heights.

Watts earned second team all-conference honors as a junior in 2012.

The 6-foot-4, 335-pound Watts earned all-District 25-4A honorable mention honors in 2008 as a Roo. He helped Killeen to a 9-5 mark and a berth in the state quarterfinals.

Other athletes on the list with local ties include Angelo State’s Rush Seaver, first-team defense. Seaver is a junior linebacker from Lampasas.

Tarleton State sophomore wide receiver Le’Nard Meyers of Gatesville and West Texas A&M senior linebacker Kyle Voss of Belton made the second-team list.


Craig Watts West Texas A&M OG Sr. Killeen

Anthony Lewis Angelo State OG Sr. San Antonio

Terrance Harris West Texas A&M OT Sr. Killeen

Bryan Keith Midwestern State OT Sr. Wichita Falls

Shadow Stokes Midwestern State C Jr. Kilgore

Alex Young Angelo State TE Sr. Hughson, Calif.

Vernon Johnson Texas A&M-Commerce WR Jr. Fort Worth

Torrence Allen West Texas A&M WR Sr. Meridian

Anthony Johnson West Texas A&M WR Jr. San Antonio

Robert Armstrong Texas A&M-Kingsville WR Sr. Cuero

Dustin Vaughan West Texas A&M QB Sr. Corpus Christi

Keidrick Jackson Midwestern State RB Sr. Arlington

Jordan Wells Eastern New Mexico RB Jr. Austin

Christian Long Eastern New Mexico FB Sr. Memphis, Tenn.

Sergio Castillo West Texas A&M PK Sr. La Joya

Nathan Slaughter West Texas A&M RS Sr. Lubbock


Charlie Tuaau Texas A&M-Commerce DT Jr. Wahiawa, Hawaii

Joey Searcy Angelo State DT Sr. Grand Prairie

Ethan Westbrooks West Texas A&M DE Sr. Oakland, Calif.

Tevin Moore Texas A&M-Commerce DE Sr. Dallas

Rush Seaver Angelo State ILB Jr. Lampasas

Taylor McCuller West Texas A&M ILB Sr. Red Oak

Bryan Johnson West Texas A&M OLB Sr. Bellport, NY

Desmond Jackson Tarleton State OLB Sr. Seguin

Neiko Conway Midwestern State CB Sr. Houston

Dashaun Phillips Tarleton State CB Sr. Duncanville

Curtis Slater West Texas A&M S Sr. Houston

Marqui Christian Midwestern State S So. Spring

Kevin Reaves Eastern New Mexico S Jr. Albuquerque, NM

Kevin VanVoris West Texas A&M P Sr. Elizabeth, Colo.

Ramon Lopez West Texas A&M DS Sr. Avondale, Ariz.


John Mendoza Eastern New Mexico OG Sr. Concord, Calif.

Armando Alvarez Tarleton State OG Sr. Houston

Will Harris Midwestern State OT Sr. Fontana, Calif.

Kevin Smith Eastern New Mexico OT Sr. Albuquerque, NM

Trent Davis Angelo State OT Sr. Round Rock

Isikeli Cocker Angelo State C Sr. Euless

Jordan Jenkins Texas A&M-Commerce TE Jr. Orlando, Fla.

Jacob Johnson Eastern New Mexico WR Jr. Idalou

Le Nard Meyers Tarleton State WR So. Gatesville

Joey Knight Angelo State WR Sr. Corinth

Seth Smith Texas A&M-Commerce WR Jr. Ennis

Kyle Washington Angelo State QB So. Humble

Aaron Harris West Texas A&M RB Sr. El Cajon, Calif.

Jermie Calhoun Angelo State RB Sr. Ben Wheeler

Blake Smith Angelo State FB Jr. Burleson

Zach Henshaw Tarleton State FB So. Canyon Lake

Greg Saladino Midwestern State PK Sr. Kingwood

Vernon Johnson Texas A&M-Commerce RS Jr. Fort Worth


Alex Tucci West Texas A&M DT So. Weston, Fla.

Armonti Yharbrough Midwestern State DT Sr. Romulus, Mich.

Robert Williams Texas A&M-Kingsville DE Sr. Dallas

Jake Blount Tarleton State DE R-Fr. Flower Mound

Kyle Voss West Texas A&M ILB Sr. Belton

Marquis Wadley Tarleton State ILB Sr. Mesquite

Cole Pitts Texas A&M-Commerce OLB So. Alvin

Benjamin Pedro-LangfordEastern New Mexico OLB Jr. Pago Pago, American Samoa

Christopher Barnard Eastern New Mexico OLB Jr. Melrose, NM

Ronald Fields Texas A&M-Commerce CB Jr. Sacramento, Calif.

Darrelyn McCloud Eastern New Mexico CB Jr. Albuquerque, NM

Taiyon Jackson Midwestern State S Sr. Bakersfield, Calif.

Charles Moore Tarleton State S Jr. Carrollton

Marcus Fore Texas A&M-Commerce S Sr. Fort Worth

Cameron Frosch Texas A&M-Commerce P Sr. Rowlett

Sam Fowler Angelo State P So. Crosby

Randall Arbuckle Midwestern State DS Sr. Canadian


Offensive Player of the Year (J.W. Rollins award): Dustin Vaughan, West Texas A&M

Offensive Back of the Year: Keidrick Jackson, Midwestern State

Receiver of the Year: Vernon Johnson A&M-Commerce

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Craig Watts, West Texas A&M

Freshman of the Year: Patric Youngman, West Texas A&M

Defensive Player of the Year (J.V. Sikes award): Charlie Tuaau A&M-Commerce

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Charlie Tuaau A&M-Commerce

Linebacker of the Year: Taylor McCuller, West Texas A&M

Defensive Back of the Year: Curtis Slater, West Texas A&M

Coach of the Year: Josh Lynn, Eastern New Mexico


Nick Perez Tarleton State OG So. Stephenville

Christian Garcia Texas A&M-Kingsville OG So. Eagle Pass

Lucus Love Tarleton State OT Jr. Van Alstyne

Kody Travis Tarleton State OT So. Stephenville

Trevor Goodale Texas A&M-Commerce OT Sr. Carson, Nev.

Maanaima Lang Eastern New Mexico C Jr. Pago Pago, American Samoa

Andrew Weidel Texas A&M-Commerce C Sr. Downey, Calif.

Derek Tesch Texas A&M-Kingsville TE Jr. Blanco

Jace Jackson West Texas A&M TE Sr. Sulphur Springs

Clifton Rhodes Tarleton State WR Jr. Fort Worth

Jake Fenske Tarleton State QB Sr. Round Rock

Jeremy Buurma Eastern New Mexico QB So. Las Cruces, N.M.

Jerome Regal Tarleton State RB So. Richardson

KJ Garrett Texas A&M-Commerce RB Fr. Center

Anthony Washington Texas A&M-Kingsville RB Jr. Cypress

Saul Martinez Texas A&M-Commerce PK Jr. Pittsburg

Desmond Jackson Tarleton State RS Sr. Seguin

Dominic Williams Midwestern State RS So. Houston

Zane Brown Texas A&M-Kingsville DT Sr. Houston

LaPear Willrich West Texas A&M DT R-Fr. Giddings

Ethan Perkins Tarleton State DT Jr. Nacadoches

Kyle Patterson Angelo State DT Sr. Hemet, Calif.

Clayton Callicutt Angelo State DE So. Crosby

Patrick Bettiol Tarleton State DE Jr. College Station

Seth Bailey Eastern New Mexico ILB Jr. Texico, N.M.

Julian Yearwood Eastern New Mexico ILB Jr. Las Vegas, Nev.

Stephen Ford Texas A&M-Commerce ILB Sr. Fate

Marc Martinez Tarleton State ILB Jr. Waco

Patric Youngman West Texas A&M OLB R-Fr. Forney

Torian Oakley West Texas A&M CB Jr. Spring

Ryan Clappsaddle Angelo State S So. The Woodlands

John McSheffery West Texas A&M S Sr. Sulphur Springs

Isaac Arellano Tarleton State P Jr. Euless

Cameron Rogers Texas A&M-Commerce DS Fr. San Antonio

Charlie Savedra Eastern New Mexico DS Jr. Soccoro, NM


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.