Salado softball at Franklin

The Salado softball team poses with the Franklin tournament silver bracket championship plaque Saturday. Members of the team are, back row, from the left, assistant coach Jodee Preston, assistant coach Derek Brown, Reese Preston, Chris Wilson, Liz Ford, Lorena Perez, head coach Ashton Cooper, Becca Dockray and Erin Faske. Front row: Rylee Oborski, Amanda Cantu, Breigh Oliver, Janiah Del Rio and Jorja Washington. Not pictured are Bailey Tindell, Abbie James, Marissa Gonzalez and Piper Randolph.

Becca Dockray went 3 for 3 at the plate, drove in three runs and struck out six on the mound to earn the victory as the Salado softball team routed Blooming Grove 14-4 in the silver bracket championship game of the Franklin tournament on Saturday.

Breigh Oliver was 2 for 2 with an RBI. Chris Wilson and Liz Ford each went 3 for 4. Ford, Janiah Del Rio and Rylee Oborski each drove in two runs.

Salado won five straight games in the tourney after dropping the opener 9-6 to Caldwell on Thursday. The Lady Eagles stole 48 bases in the tournament.

Salado advanced to the final with a 4-3 win over Milano. The International Tie Breaker rule, in which each team starts the inning with a runner at second base, was used to break the stalemate.

Eris Faske scored on an error to give Salado the victory.

Dockray struck out nine in that game and was the winning hurler.

A whopping 29 of Salado’s 48 stolen bases occurred in a 20-0 rout of the A&M Consolidated junior varsity.

Randolph had seven of them and was 1 for 1 at the plate.

Wilson was 2 for 3 with a homer and three RBIs in an 11-1 win over Bruceville-Eddy.

Bailey Tindell struck out eight in a 6-2 victory over Milano. Wilson (2 for 2) and Dockray (3 for 3) each drove in two runs.

Salado opens District 19-4A play Tuesday at Llano.

Ellison graduate Fulghum wins Texas State Golden Gloves title

Darius Fulghum, a 2015 Ellison graduate, won the 201-pound division at the annual Texas State Golden Gloves boxing tournament on Saturday in Fort Worth.

Fulghum, representing Team Houston, won a decision over Fort Worth’s Richard Jones in the final.

Team Houston won its sixth straight team championship.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.