College honors employees of year

Central Texas College recently announced its employees of the year for the central, Fort Hood and Service Area campuses as well as its Navy, Continental and Pacific Far East campuses.

Also recognized were the department of the year, students’ choice teacher of the year, the Chancellor’s Award recipient, as selected by Thomas Klincar, and the CTC Foundation Employee Alumnus award.

The employees of the year are:

  • Fort Hood and service area campuses: Lorraine Juarez, coordinator — Adult Education; and Sharon Hughes, clerk III — Student Records, Fort Hood.
  • Central campus (academic): Judy Marshall, director — Early Childhood Professions/Child Development.
  • Central campus (non-academic): Scott Wyman, training coordinator — Human Resources Department, and Denise Colemire, payroll specialist — Payroll Department.
  • Pacific Far East: Deborah Walker, executive secretary.
  • Navy: Karl Jaeger, site manager, and Arthur Minton, distance learning manager.
  • Continental: Scott Sallis, supervisor-night monitor, and Sabine Thomas, site director.
  • Department of the Year: Custodial Services.
  • Students’ Choice Teacher of the Year: Chad Burrows, professor — Math Department.
  • Chancellor’s Award: Continuing Education Department.
  • CTC Foundation Employee Alumnus Award: Prisclilla Clark, professor — ADN Program, Nursing Department.

College honors nursing graduates

The Central Texas College Nursing Department held pinning ceremonies Dec. 14 in the Anderson Campus Center to honor students in both the Associate Degree in Nursing and Licensed Vocational Nursing programs.

Fifty-four students received their pins upon completing 71 credit hours of course work and clinical rotations in the ADN program while 24 students completed the 53 credit hours for the LVN program.

The guest speaker for the ADN ceremony was C.W. Luther, director of the Intensive Care Unit at Scott & White Hospital, while Sharon Carter, CTC nursing professor, addressed the LVN graduates.

Several students were recognized during the ADN ceremony. Amy Carroll received the Caring Heart Award. Runners-up for the award were Suzanne Chandler, Lynn Meyers and K’Lee Reynolds. Also cited were the honors graduates. Graduating with high honors for maintaining a at least a 3.8 GPA were Allison Gallegos, Candis Johnson, Jennifer Lallis and Jennifer Stone. Graduating with honors for maintaining at least a 3.5 GPA were Shanah Adkins, Rebecca Blitz, Chelsey Bourdon, Suzanne Chandler, Kristin Cummings, Meaghan Findley, Rachel Hester, Andri Kelley, Quintella Mallory, Shelby Marenco, Lauren Smiley, Kristina Stout and Sandra Nash.

Graduating with high honors in the LVN class were Elizabeth Gault, Ashley Lowery and Arielle Kaplan. Honors graduates were Taryn Yanez, Rayveon Washington, Beatrice Gone, Rita Nation, Phyllis Akins-Smith and Marie Metheny.

Both pinning ceremonies featured the traditional candle-lighting ceremony, which serves as a tribute to the founder of modern nursing, Florence Nightingale. The pin symbolizes a medal of excellence that Nightingale presented to her outstanding graduate nurses. Today, nursing graduates select a faculty member, family member or loved one to place the pin on their uniform marking the passage of the student nurse role to the role of a practicing nurse.

Students completing both nursing programs are now qualified to take the National Council Licensure Examinations for their respective practice.

Local students completing the ADN program are:


Inyoung Barrows

Chelsey Bourdon

Suzanne Chandler

Myra Clark

Ivan Correa Lopez

Rose DeLaGarza

Alicia Hawker

Rachel Hester

Brianna Holden

Eunbit Houghton

Candis Johnson

Susan Kim

Sarai Longhenhry

Shelby Marenco

Sandra Nash

Michelle Parsons

Alethea Reeves

Fabiola Santiago

Lauren Smiley

Diana Trujillo

Christina Williams

Fort Hood

Lisa Aguinaga,

Genet Anderson

Heather Losee

Harker Heights

Kimberley Houghtaling

Quintella Mallory

Lynn Myers

Jennifer Stone

Jeallyn Tria


Jennifer Lallis

Kenneth Meyer

Kristina Stout


Alexandria Nunnally

Copperas Cove

Shanah Adkins

Andrea Bean

Rebecca Blitz

Kristin Cummings

Meaghan Findley

Paul Mullins

Danielle Rodriguez

Ciara Salazar


Kayla Cox

Crystal Cude

D’Mietress Myers

April Thomas


Jessica Stinson

Local students completing the LVN program were:


Phyllis Akins

Coco Calzado

Cairoshell Engleton

Rebeca Gutierrez

Arielle Kaplan

Ashley Lowery

Rysheich Nicholson

Jean Rosales

Jeffrey Sauber

Kristi-Ann Smith

Fort Hood

Tanita Davis

Rita Nation

Taryn Yanez

Copperas Cove

Patricia Akhigormehi

Travis Arnold

Keasha Emilson

Elizabeth Gault

Carolyn Novy


Marie Metheny


Have items to include, email Items run as space allows.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.