• February 27, 2017

Army restructuring warrior transition units

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, January 10, 2014 4:30 am

The Army will restructure its warrior transition units, closing five full-size units and all nine community-based units, followed by the addition of 13 community care units by fall 2014, coming on the tail of the draw down of troops in Afghanistan and a subsequent decline in combat wounded soldiers, according to a Defense Department statement.

Fort Hood’s Warrior Transition Brigade will remain, along with a new community care unit, targeted at treating Reserve and National Guard troops in the brigade.

Five posts will see a Warrior Transition Unit closure — Fort Irwin, Calif.; Fort Huachuca, Ariz.; Fort Jackson, S.C.; Joint Base McGuire-Dix-Lakehurst, N.J.; and the U.S. Military Academy, West Point, N.Y. — each unit with fewer than 38 soldiers.

In addition to Fort Hood, the following posts will gain a community care unit: Fort Carson, Colo.; Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Wash.; Fort Bliss; Fort Riley, Kan.; Fort Knox, Ky.; Forts Benning, Stewart and Gordon, Ga.; Fort Bragg, N.C.; and Fort Belvoir, Va. Forts Belvoir and Knox will have two.

Warrior Transition Units assist wounded soldiers with complex medical care needs in transitioning back into the Army or into civilian life.

Community-care units will serve soldiers who need less than six months of rehabilitative care.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.