By Taylor Short and Jade Ortego

Killeen Daily Herald

Republican incumbents were successful Tuesday night after statewide precincts reported in.

As of 11 p.m., Rep. John Carter, R-Round Rock, had 67,620 votes to challenger Raymond Yamka's 7,349 votes in the race for the 31st Congressional District seat.

The totals represented 125 of 227 precincts counted, with returns missing from Williamson County, Carter's home county.

Carter was declared the winner early in the evening, receiving more than 90 percent of the votes cast.

Texas' 31st Congressional District contains Bell, Coryell, Erath, Falls, Hamilton, Milam, Robertson and Williamson counties.

Carter was first elected in 2002 and re-elected three times. He has served on multiple House committees and was the House Republican Conference Secretary for the 110th and 111th Congress.

"I'm overwhelmed by the generosity of my neighbors across my district, giving me a chance to come back and serve in Congress again. I'm very grateful and wish my opponent well," Carter said.

District 59

In the Republican primary for the District 59 state House seat, Rep. Sid Miller, R-Stephenville apparently won re-election over challenger J.D. Sheffield, a 17-year Gatesville doctor who focused his campaign on health care change and education.

With 69 of 75 precincts reporting, Miller had garnered 9,556 votes to Sheffield's 7,930.

District 59 contains Erath, Comanche, Mills, Hamilton, Coryell and Somervell counties.

Miller was first elected to District 59 in 2001 and was re-elected to the position four times. He currently serves on the Business and Industry and Corrections committees. He attended Tarleton State University and was a former teacher, school board member and businessman.

"I'm obviously pleased with the way it turned out. I'm thankful that we had a good grassroots effort with a lot of volunteers. I appreciate all the support I got and look forward to representing District 59 once again," he said.

Averitt has unlikely win

Although he dropped out of the race, State Sen. Kip Averitt, R-Waco, managed to garner 47,330 votes over challenger Darren Yancy's 30,066, with 254 of 305 precincts reporting.

Averitt dropped his bid for re-election on Jan. 13, saying in a statement that he ended his campaign to focus on his family and "significant challenges" to his health.

Because Averitt dropped from the race after the Dec. 30 deadline, his name still appeared on the ballot with Yancy.

Averitt will be able to withdraw the nomination and the Democratic and Republican parties would select a single replacement for the Nov. 2 general election ballot through the parties' district executive committees.

Yancy, of Burleson, is

an independent contractor with Nationwide Insurance.

Yancy originally considered running for the District 17 seat in the U.S. House before deciding in October to challenge Averitt in the Senate race.

Texas' District 22 consists of 10 counties, including Coryell, McLennan and Falls.

Averitt served 9½ years in the Texas House and two terms as chairman of the House Committee on Financial Institutions. He was elected to the Texas Senate in April 2002 and filed to run for re-election in December 2009.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.