Three Killeen Independent School District board members met Tuesday to canvass voting results from the May 6 school board election.

JoAnn Purser, Minerva Trujillo and Susan Jones were all present to review the voting numbers in detail.

According to the now official results, incumbent Marvin Rainwater and new member Carlyle Walton were elected.

In the Place 4 race, Rainwater was re-elected with 1,891 votes (54.5 percent) over challenger Stephania Williams, who picked up 1,580 votes (45.5 percent).

In the Place 5 race, Walton was the top vote-getter with 977 votes (28.6 percent). Other candidates and results in the Place 5 race included: Lan Carter, 752 (22 percent); Gerald Dreher, 430 (12.6 percent); Lonnie Farrow, 360 (10.5 percent); and Robert Snyder, 898 (26.3 percent).

The Place 5 seat opened after Board President Terry Delano opted to not run for re-election.

The school board’s next meeting is set to take place at 6 p.m. May 23 at the district office, 200 N. W.S. Young Drive. Rainwater and Walton are scheduled to be sworn in at that meeting.

254-501-7568 |

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.