By Jade Ortego

Killeen Daily Herald

Thursday was the first day that candidates for Bell County offices could file to run in the 2010 election.

Killeen Councilman Ernest Wilkerson, a Democrat, filed to run against incumbent John Fisher for county commissioner of Precinct 4, which includes Killeen. Voters elected Fisher, a Republican, to the office in 2003.

Tim Brown, county commissioner of Precinct 2, announced his re-election bid on Nov. 23. Voters elected Brown, a Republican, in 1994.

County Judge Jon Burrows announced Nov. 18 that he would run for his fourth term. Burrows, a Republican, was elected in 1998 and re-elected in 2002 and 2006.

Judge Gordon G. Adams of the 169th District Court announced Nov. 30 that he would be running for election. Adams, of Salado, is a former mayor pro tem of Killeen.

Then-Gov. George W. Bush appointed Adams, a Republican, in June 2000. Voters elected him to the office later that year, and re-elected him in 2002 and 2006.

Republican County Clerk Shelley Coston, elected in 2007, has filed for a second term. The county clerk administers all county and state elections in Bell County.

Judge Gerald Brown of County Court at Law 3 announced that he will retire this year. Temple attorney Mary Pearson and Administrative Assistant District Attorney Rebecca DePew, both Republicans, and Democrat Tiffany Howard, also an attorney, will vie for the position. DePew announced her candidacy Oct.16.

Bell County Democratic Party chair Arthur Resa said that he expects two other Democratic candidates to file soon.

He believes they will run for county commissioner of Precinct 2 and for the office of justice of the peace.

A candidate may file to run for office from Dec. 3 to Jan. 3. Primaries are March 2.

Other offices up for election:

County Court at Law 1 judge; held by Edward Johnson, elected Nov. 19, 1979.

County Court at Law 2 judge; held by John Mischtian, elected Jan. 2, 2007.

264th Judicial District judge; held by Martha Trudo, elected Jan. 1, 1995.

District clerk, held by Sheila Norman; elected Jan. 1, 1995.

Justice of the peace, Precinct 1, Belton; held by Ted Duffield, elected Jan. 1, 1995.

Justice of the peace, Precinct 2, Salado; held by Don Engleking, elected Jan. 3, 2005.

Justice of the peace, Precinct 3 ,Place 2, Temple; held by G. W. Ivey, elected Jan. 1, 1987.

Justice of the peace, Precinct 4, Place 2, Killeen; held by Bill Cooke, elected Sept. 1, 1996.

County Treasurer; held by Charles Jones, elected Jan. 1, 1983.

Contact Jade Ortego at or (254) 501-7553.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.