By Jade Ortego and Taylor Short

Killeen Daily Herald

Today is the last day for those who voted in the Republican primary to vote in the runoff election for Texas Supreme Court justice, Place 3.

Only those who voted in the Republican primary will be allowed to vote. Former state Rep. Rick Green, a conservative public speaker and sometimes-contract attorney, is facing Debra Lehrmann, a judge in Tarrant County for 22 years.

He garnered 18.9 percent of the vote and she had 18.2 percent in the March 2 primary. There were six candidates.

Five former justices have endorsed Lehrmann for the post. She has said Green is unqualified for the job; he claims it is more important to choose judges with the right philosophy than with the most "judicial experience."

The runoff is the only election on the ballot in Bell County.

Polling locations are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Coryell County

Six Coryell County Republicans will jockey for position in today's primary runoff to determine the candidates for three county offices before the Nov. 2 election.

Voters forced the runoff after hopefuls in the March 2 Republican primary split the vote for county court-at-law judge and justices of the peace for Precincts 3 and 4.

County residents can vote at five locations in Purmela, Copperas Cove and Gatesville from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today.

Attorney John R. Lee took almost half the votes March 2 to join 17-year Judge Susan R. Stephens in the runoff for the county court-at-law judge. The third candidate, attorney Joe Rodriguez, took 521 votes, or 10.85 percent.

Stephens, who was the original judge when the court was conceived in 1993, never had a challenger until this year and has never been in a runoff election.

Voters whittled down 10 candidates to four in the race for justice of the peace for Precincts 3 and 4.

Deputy Court Clerk Beverly Ann Jones beat out five other candidates in the Precinct 3 justice of the peace race with 660 votes, or about 33 percent. She will face Jeb Dixon, who took in about 19.5 percent of the vote, in today's runoff.

In the Precinct 4 justice of the peace race, contractor Coy Latham came out on top over three other candidates with about 42 percent of the vote. Jailer Robert Jeffcoat joined Latham in the runoff after gaining 28 percent of the vote March 2.

Residents also can vote in the Texas Supreme Court justice, Place 3 race between Rick Green, who received 18.93 percent of the vote, and Debra Lehrmann, who got 18.2 percent.

No runoffs were necessary for the county Democratic Party.

Where to vote today in the state Republican runoff election

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today for the state Republican runoff election.

Bell County

The only race on the runoff ballot is for state Supreme Court Justice Place 3.

Vote at the following locations:

Precincts 101, 102, 103, 104: Bell County North Annex, 1605 N. Main St., Belton

Precincts 105, 107, 108: Bliss Community Center, 109 S. Evans, Little River/Academy

Precincts 106, 204, 403: Transforming Life Fellowship, 4107 Westcliff Road, Killeen

Precincts 109, 308: First Church of the Nazarene, 5000 S. 31st St., Temple

Precincts 110, 401, 407, 411: Central Texas College, 6200 Centex Expressway, Building 139, Room 175, Killeen

Precinct 203: Salado Church of Christ Activities Center, 225 N. Church St., Salado

Precincts 205, 406, 410: Marlboro Heights Baptist Church, 800 Rev. Abercrombie Drive, Killeen

Precincts 207, 208, 210: Copper Mountain Library, 3000 S. W.S. Young Drive, Killeen

Precincts 201, 202, 206, 209: St. Paul Chong Hasang Catholic Church, 1000 East FM 2410, Harker Heights

Precincts 301, 316: Troy Community Center, 201 E. Main, Troy

Precincts 302, 303: Frank Mayborn Civic Center, 3303 N. Third St., Temple

Precincts 305, 313, 314: St. Luke Catholic Church Parish Hall, 2807 Oakdale, Temple

Precincts 304, 306, 307: Wilson Parks & Recreation Center, 2205 Curtis B. Elliott Drive, Temple

Precincts 309, 310: St. Joseph Catholic Church Fellowship Hall, 20220 FM 485, Burlington

Precincts 311, 317: Moffat Community Center, 13410 Kuykendall Mountain Road, Temple

Precincts 312: First Baptist Church of Rogers, 5 West Prairie, Rogers

Precincts 111, 315: Lakeview Baptist Church, 7717 Highway 317, Belton

Precincts 402, 405, 409: Southwest Bell Fire Department, 258 Triple 7 Trail, Killeen

Precincts 404, 408: Fire Station No. 5, 905 W. Jasper Road, Killeen

Coryell County

Races on the ballot include justice of the peace Precinct 3 and Precinct 4, county court-at-law judge and state Supreme Court Justice Place 3.

Vote at the following locations:

Precincts 108, 109, 110, 111: Purmela Baptist Church, 875 FM 932, Purmela

Precincts 105, 122, 219, 221, 320, 401, 418: Copperas Cove County Annex, 201 S. Second St., Copperas Cove

Precincts 202, 213: Gatesville County Annex, 201 S. Seventh St., Gatesville

Precincts 303, 312, 314, 315: Coryell Activities Complex, 303 Veterans Memorial Loop, Gatesville

Precincts 116, 404, 406, 407: Gatesville Senior Center, 208 N. Lutterloh, Gatesville

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.