• February 27, 2017

Herald staff members win Texas AP managing editors’ awards

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Related Stories

Posted: Sunday, April 6, 2014 4:30 am

SOUTH PADRE ISLAND — Several members of the Killeen Daily Herald news team won top awards in Class AA on Saturday in the first two of three award ceremonies at the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors’ annual meeting in South Texas.

Military Editor Rose L. Thayer took first place in two categories — short feature and specialty reporting — and second place in star reporter.

Photographer Catrina Rawson took first place for a photo gallery and finished third in star photojournalist, and former Herald sports reporter Alex Byington won first place in the breaking sports news category.

Third-place honors went to reporter Sarah Rafique for features, and sports reporter Jordan Mason took third place for sports features.

Rafique also won honorable mention in the comment and criticism category.

A team effort by Rafique, Vanessa Lynch, Bryan Correira and former Herald reporters Brandon Janes and Wendy Sledd earned an honorable mention for feature series.

The annual meeting ends at noon today with a final awards ceremony.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.