The Killeen Independent School District Board of Trustees met Tuesday morning to swear in the winners of the May 11 election, and to select officers.

After the full seven-member board certified the election results, members Shelley Wells, Susan Jones and Corbett Lawler took the oath of office.

The board then retired to executive session for a little more than 30 minutes to discuss “personnel matters” before returning to open session to vote in members to officer positions.

Wells retained her position as board president, and member Terry Delano also kept his position as board vice president. Trustee Kenneth Ray was chosen as the board’s secretary over Lawler, who had previously held the position.

The vote to name Wells president was split 4-3, with Wells, Ray, Jones and Trustee JoAnn Purser voting for Wells.

Trustees Lawler, Delano and Minerva Trujillo voted to name Delano as board president.

The vote on board secretary was split along similar 4-3 lines. The vote to name Delano as the board’s vice president was unanimous.

Contact Chris McGuinness at or (254) 501-7568. Follow him on Twitter at ChrismKDH.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.