Voters in Lampasas County came out in droves Tuesday to vote for several open positions in the primary election, but three of the races are headed to runoffs in May.

Still to be decided are Republican nominations for district judge, Precinct 2 county commissioner and district clerk.

As no Democrats have filed for the seats, the winners will take office in January.

Larry W. Allsion and Randy Hoyer will compete in a runoff election for the  county judge’s seat. Allison received 43.09 percent of vote with 1,374 votes, and Hoyer got 42.18 percent with 1,345 votes.

Jamie Smart and Ron Farr will have a runoff election for the Precinct 2 county commissioner seat. Smart pulled 38.9 percent of ballots with 473 votes, and Farr got 32.57 percent with 396 votes.

Three Republican candidates ran for the position of district clerk, and Edith Wagner Harrison and Trina Wykes Hudson will compete in a runoff election. Harrison drew 35.5 percent of the vote with 1,103 votes, and Hudson got 32.28 percent with 1,003 votes.

Incumbent Cody Reed barely missed the runoff, receiving 32.22 percent of votes. Reed took office in May 2016, and prior to being the district clerk, he served as a police officer in the Lampasas Police Department.

Harrison currently works at the Killeen Independent School District and has worked as a special education teacher in KISD. Hudson currently works as a legal assistant to the Lampasas County district attorney.

With no fall opponent, incumbent Connie Hartmann was technically re-elected as Lampasas County clerk, receiving 72.52 percent of votes. Hartmann ran against newcomer Sharon Fortner.

Hartmann has lived in Lampasas County for 56 years and has served as the county clerk for 34 years.

Melissa Karcher was elected for Lampasas County treasurer, receiving 60.87 percent of votes.

Karcher currently works for Lampasas County as the data coordinator for the Juvenile Probation Department and was formerly the chief deputy treasurer for Lampasas County.

Incumbent Nelda DeRiso will step down at the end of this term. Karcher ran against current deputy treasurer Sharon Watson.

A total of 3,703 voters cast their ballots for candidates throughout the county.

Herald staffer Artie Phillips contributed to this report | 254-501-7553 | 254-501-7553

Herald staff writer

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.