Early voting in the May 22 primary election runoff is officially over, with the final chance to vote on Election Day this Tuesday. Several national and local primaries will be decided with the results of the runoff.

Winners of the runoff will advance to the Nov. 6 general election.

Voting on Tuesday will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at various locations across the state.

By the end of early voting Friday, there were 6,460 ballots cast in Bell County, 1,853 ballots cast in Coryell County and 1,887 ballots cast in Lampasas County.


Perhaps the biggest race in the area, the Republican primary race for House District 54, is one of the many races to be decided Tuesday. Incumbent Rep. Scott Cosper, of Killeen, is facing off against Dr. Brad Buckley, a Killeen veterinarian who lives in Salado.

For more information on House District 54 race, visit kdhnews.com/centerforpolitics.

U.S. District 31

The Democratic challenger to U.S. District 31 Rep. John Carter, R-Round Rock, will also be decided Tuesday night.

Democrat Mary Jennings “M.J.” Hegar, of Cedar Park, an Air Force veteran and author, will face off against Dr. Christine Eady Mann of Cedar Park, a family physician.

District 31 encompasses a section of the Interstate 35 corridor, Killeen and most of Fort Hood.

U.S. District 25

Two Austin Democrats in the runoff are vying for the nomination to run against incumbent Rep. Roger Williams, R-Austin, who was unopposed in March’s primary.

Criminal defense attorney Chris Perri — one of five Democrats in the primary — will face attorney and medical professional Julie Oliver.

Bell County

The race for Bell County commissioner Precinct 2 also went to the runoff election.

Republican incumbent Tim Brown is facing Bobby Whitson in the Tuesday election.

Brown has been a county commissioner for six terms. He blamed leadership at the Texas Legislature for a large amount of unfunded mandates.

He said in an interview with the Herald in March that county growth, road maintenance, restricting the size of county government and unfunded mandates from the state are among his top priorities.

Whitson is the president of the Greater Central Texas Federal Credit Union, and said that his experience as a banker gives him a unique vantage point.

Coryell County

There were several close races in the county in March, and three went into the runoff election.

The county judge, district clerk and county treasurer races all have runoffs.

In the county judge race, Janice Gray is facing off against Roger Miller.

The district clerk race is another that will see a runoff election. Becky Moore is running against Jeremy Pruitt.

The third runoff election will be for county treasurer. Randi McFarlin is facing Cindy Hitt for the position.

Lampasas County

Three Lampasas races will also be facing runoffs. Still to be decided are Republican nominations for district judge, Precinct 2 county commissioner and district clerk.

Larry W. Allison and Randy Hoyer will compete in a runoff election for the county judge’s seat.

Jamie Smart and Ron Farr will have a runoff election for the Precinct 2 county commissioner seat.

Edith Wagner Harrison and Trina Wykes Hudson will compete in a runoff election for the position of district clerk.

Election Day Polling Locations:


101, 102, 103, 113 Belton Nazarene Church, 1701 Sparta Road, Belton

104 Morgan’s Point Fire Dept., 6 Lake Forest Drive, Morgan’s Point Resort,

105 Bliss Community Center, 109 South Evans, Little River-Academy

107, 108 Kuhlman Civic Center, 100 West Travis St., Holland

106, 109, 110 Fire Station #1, 3800 Westcliff Road Killeen

111 J.W. Sims Community Center, 408 North 10th St., Nolanville

201, 202, 209 Harker Heights Parks & Rec. Center, 307 Millers Crossing, Harker Heights

203 Salado Church of Christ Activities Center 225 N. Church St., Salado

204, 205 Marlboro Heights Baptist Church, 800 Rev Abercrombie Drive, Killeen

206, 207, 208, 210 Grace Christian Center, 1401 E. Elms Road, Killeen

301 Troy Community Center, 201 E. Main Troy

302, 303, 315 VFW Post 1820, 3204 Airport Road, Temple

305, 313, 314 Trinity Lutheran Church, 2016 Marlandwood Road, Temple

304, 306, 307 Immanuel Baptist Church, 1401 W. Central, Temple

308, 317 First Church of the Nazarene, 5000 S. 31st St., Temple

309, 310 St. Joseph Catholic Church Fellowship Hall, 20220 FM 485, Burlington

311 First Baptist Church Moffat, 13929 Moffat Road, Temple

312 First Baptist Church of Rogers, 5 Prairie, Rogers

401, 413 Fire Station #9, 5400 Bunny Trail, Killeen

404, 408 Fire Station #5, 905 W. Jasper Road, Killeen

402, 409 Southwest Bell Fire Department, 258 Triple 7 Trail, Killeen

405, 412 Robert M. Shoemaker High School, 3302 Clear Creek Road, Killeen

406, 410 Fire Department Support Facility, 114 W. Ave. D, Killeen


Gatesville Civic Center, 303 Veterans Memorial Loop, Gatesville

Evant City Hall, 598 E. Highway 84, Evant

Turnersville Community Center, 8115 FM 182, Turnersville

Copperas Cove Civic Center, 1206 W. Ave. B, Copperas Cove

Holy Family Catholic Church, 1001 Georgetown Road, Copperas Cove


Lampasas New Covenant Church

1604 Central Texas Expressway, Lampasas

First Baptist Church in Kempner, Texas

11915 E. Highway 190, Kempner

JP 2 Office Lometa

104 N. 4th St., Lometa

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.