Two of the three announced candidates vying for the Texas House District 54 GOP primary have filed their campaigns with the state in the first 12 days of the filing period.

Rep. Scott Cosper, a former mayor of Killeen, and Brad Buckley, a Killeen veterinarian, have filed their paperwork for the March 6 primary.

A third possible candidate, Larry Smith, has announced his campaign but had not yet filed his paperwork.

Candidates for the March 6 primaries have until Dec. 11 to file for their spot on the ballot. On Nov. 23, 27 Republicans filed their candidacies with the Bell County GOP.

Here’s a look at who’s filed to run in the primary:

U.S. House District 31: Republican incumbent John Carter; Republican Mike Sweeney; Democrat Christine Eady Mann; and Democrat Kent Lester.

Texas House District 55: Republican incumbent Hugh Shine; Republican CJ Grisham; and Republican Brandon Hall.

Texas House District 54: Republican incumbent Scott Cosper and Republican Brad Buckley.

Bell County Judge: Republican David Blackburn.

Bell County Clerk: Republican incumbent Shelley Coston.

Bell County Treasurer: Republicans Jeannette Compean and Gaylon Evans.

264th District Court Judge: Republicans Randy Dale, Steven Duskie, Paul LePak and Jeff Parker.

169th District Court Judge: Republican incumbent Gordon Adams.

County Court at Law No. 1: Republican incumbent Jeanne Parker.

County Court at Law No. 2: Republican incumbent John Mischtian.

County Court at Law No. 3: Republican incumbent Rebecca DePew.

District Clerk: Republican incumbent Joanna Staton.

Bell County Precinct 2 Commissioner: Republican incumbent Tim Brown; Republican Bobby Whitson; and Republican Brit Owen.

Bell County Precinct 4 Commissioner: Fisher, the Republican incumbent; and Minor, the Democratic challenger.

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1: Republican incumbent Ted Duffield; and Republican Lou Griffin.

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2: Republican Cliff Coleman; Republican Richard Sapp; and Republican Jackie Burson.

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3, Place 2: Republican incumbent G.W. Ivey.

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 4, Place 2: Republican incumbent Bill Cooke.

Herald staff writer Kyle Blankenship contributed to this report

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.