• January 21, 2017

Voters head to polls today in area races

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Saturday, May 10, 2014 4:30 am

Voters will decide today who will replace Dan Corbin as the next mayor of Killeen, and new leaders in other area cities and school districts also will be chosen.

In what could be a record turnout for a Killeen municipal election, residents will select Scott Cosper, Richard “Dick” Young or Harold “Hal” Butchart as Killeen’s mayor for the next two years.

A total of 2,250 registered voters in Killeen cast ballots during early voting, beating the city’s previous early-voting record of 2,096 ballots cast in 2012.

Seeking one of three Killeen City Council at-large seats are incumbents Elizabeth Blackstone, Jonathan Okray and Jared Foster and challengers Juan Rivera, Gary “Bubba” Purser Jr., Randy Doyle and Doris Mims-Owens.

Here’s a quick rundown on candidates in the other area races:

Killeen ISD

Place 4: Aya Eneli, Brockley Moore, Marvin Rainwater, Lan Carter

Place 5: Terry Delano

Harker Heights

Mayor: Rob Robinson, Oscar Dominguez

Seat 4: David Brown, John Reider


Mayor: Marion Grayson

Two at-large seats: Bruce Burleson, Justin Winkler, Paul Sanderford and Guy O’Banion.

Belton ISD

Two at-large seats: Jason Carothers, Amanda Winkler, Donald Copeland.


Mayor: Danny McCort, Hans Fields, Rick Ashe and Skip Blancett.

Salado voters also will decide whether to legalize alcohol sales at stores.

Temple ISD

District 2 seat: Linell Davis, Temikia Brown


Mayor: Mary Condon, David Merideth

Learn more about the candidates and find election results tonight at KDHnews.com/centerforpolitics.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.