By James David

Killeen Daily Herald

The Central Texas Chapter of the Association of the United States Army held its annual Scholarship Awards luncheon Thursday at Fort Hood's Catering and Conference Center.

It awarded 58 $1,000 college scholarship grants to Army soldiers, spouses and dependents. Last year's tally was 45, a record which was smashed this year. The 12-year tradition was started here and has been so successful that it has been launched at several other AUSA chapters.

Debbie Stevenson, AUSA spokeswoman, said that their closest competitor was Fort Bragg, but that the Central Texas Chapter "smokes them" in the number of scholarships rewarded.

"Area groups, businesses and individuals sponsor the scholarships every year," Stevenson said. "Every year it just keeps getting bigger and better."

In the 12-year history of the local chapter's scholarship program, the AUSA has awarded more than $350,000 in scholarship grants to Fort Hood and area residents with ties to the Army.

The keynote speaker and scholarship presenter was Brig. Gen. William F. Grimsley, 4th Infantry Division deputy commander.

"It's a pleasure to be able to award such a group of high performing individuals as they pursue their educations." Grimsley said.

The recipients are: Tiffany Adams, LaToya C. Adams, Danielle Anderson, Tabitha Ashford, Mary Elizabeth Bird, Amanda Brown, Robert R. Caesar, Noelani Canuela, Jennifer Cardenas, Alicia Cardin,Alan Cardon,Minchie Cathcart,Jamie Cedillo, Stanley Ciotola, Sara Clifton, Jose Cordero Jr., Demeka Daniels, Nikki Davis, David Gilbert, Nathan Gonsalves, James Gray, Tricia Marie Liming Hanley, Wendy Huffamn, Courtney Huron, Jasmine Jones, Benjamin Kiefer,

Jane Kmiecik, Cassandra Konichek,Miles Kroeger,Karen Marie Lucas, Donald MacWillie IV, Robert Moore, Michael Mozenko, Shannon Neely, Evan Douglas Ollivant, Jessica Potts, Ruben Rodriguez, Jennifer Roope,

Jessica Roope, Sha'Tia Safford, Christina Salter, Samantha Schannep, Danielle Shaffer, Ariel David Simpson,

Jonathan Coe Suarez Smith, Matthew Kyle Smith, Matther J. Smith, Destinee Stamper,E ileen Stock, Amanda Luisa Stone, Randall Stone, Marlene Swingler, Joshua Taylor, Matthew John Vanderlaan, Tracey Wallace, J.Alan Waters and Wyndell R. Williams.

For information on how you or your organization can help for next year's scholarship program, contact AUSA public relations vice president Debbie Stevenson at (512) 468-8210.

Contact James David at or call (254) 501-7463.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.