By Kristine Favreau

Killeen Daily Herald

TEMPLE – After 30 years of selfless giving, Temple resident Cynthia Russell was honored for her relentless service and dedication to bettering the lives of those less fortunate.

Russell was named the 11th recipient of the Frank W. Mayborn Humanitarian Award on Wednesday.

Sue Mayborn, editor and publisher of the Killeen Daily Herald, Temple Daily Telegram and president of KCEN-TV,

presented the award during a luncheon at the Frank W. Mayborn Civic and Convention Center in Temple.

Since its inception in 1991, the award has honored Central Texans who personify the qualities of Frank W. Mayborn, the late owner and publisher of the Herald and Telegram and owner and president of KCEN-TV.

Russell, who has served as the volunteer director of ministries for Churches Touching Lives for Christ since it was founded in 1994, also was nominated for the award in 2002.

In a letter of nomination, Dr. Tom Henderson wrote, "Cynthia has been the director of CTLC for 14 years and has volunteered countless hours, energy and tears to help hurting people get the assistance they need. She directs an army of volunteers to impact lives across cultural, racial, ethnic, religious and linguistic divides. She leads CTLC to impact lives regardless of need, challenge or history involved."

CTLC is an entirely volunteer organization assisted by 30 churches founded with the goal to provide spiritual encouragement, to help individuals access local "helping" agencies, and to serve as a central location for the accumulation and distribution of food, clothing and other goods.

On average, CTLC serves more than 500 area families each month. Russell has been involved with the organization from its earliest planning stages, and has never wavered in her dedication to the program.

"We get paid; we just don't get paid in money," Russell said. "Seeing the relief in the eyes of the people who come in, that is a payment –which is plenty enough."

Russell retired from public school teaching in 1985, but has continued to educate those around her. For 17 years she has voluntarily taught GED classes, a venture that began in a tiny attic and has expanded over the years to its current residence at the Friendship House.

"All in all, I have been blessed by the people I have met," Russell said. "I probably never would have met so many of these people if it weren't for CTLC. The Lord has blessed me far more than I have ever blessed anyone else."

The most recent recipients of the Mayborn Humanitarian Award were Jeannette Kelly in 2004 for her work with Project Apple Tree and Project Angel Tree; and in 2002 Dr. Lawrence Frankel, former director of pediatric hematology and oncology at Scott & White Memorial Hospital, for his work with young cancer patients.

Other past recipients of the Mayborn Humanitarian Award include retired Lt. Gen. H.G. "Pete" Taylor in 1999; the late William R. Courtney in 1998; Dr. Ralph and Jean Wilson, 1997; Erroll Wendland, 1995; retired Gen. Robert M. Shoemaker, 1994; Dr. Jeffrey A. Jackson, 1993; the late Fred Bandas, 1992; and the late Jim and Daurice Bowmer, the first recipients in 1991.

Additional nominees for the 2007 award included: Temple,

Julie Cauthen, Julie Curtis-Win, Bill DiGaetano, Ken Eldridge, Marsha Haney, Ilene Miller, Terry Rascoe, Bill Reeband and Lynn Woolley; Killeen, Dr. Ann Farris, Wallace Vernon, Tommy Joe Mills and

Gary Purser; Kempner, Eugene Bauer; Harker Heights, Patrick Turck and Stuart Roller.

Contact Kristine Favreau at or call 547-3535

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.