The Greater Killeen-Fort Hood USBC Association held its annual general membership meeting at VFW 9192 on Saturday.

The meeting was called to order by association president Connie White. The membership approved last year’s minutes and was followed by reports from the association officers and committee reports.

During the reports, questions arose by Temple bowlers stating that they have not received any information regarding tournaments or association business. The response by the association was that information is given to the management of Spare Time Lanes; however, they will not permit the association to post anything in the center. The association manager as well as the Temple bowlers will again raise their displeasure to the management.

Lee Ellison presented thoughts on the local tournaments and discussed the low entries. Several points were made by the association manager and Jean Maxson, owner of Killeen Bowlerama, while discussing the tournament schedule for the next two years.

The association held the election of officers and directors for the coming season. Lee Price ran unopposed for president. Incumbents Polly Martin and Charles McIntosh were re-elected along with Cathie Purvis as directors.

Everyone was made aware that awards for recognition are due to the association no later than May 31 and include volunteer of the year, coach of the year, bowler and senior bowler of the year, merit award, life member and hall of fame.

The next board meeting will be held July 26 at 1 p.m. at VFW 9192 and all members are invited.

Tournament bowling has not seen the support of the association for many years. For example: There were 51 teams for the 2010 Open Tournament, this year there were 31.

The women’s tournament went from 21 teams in 2010 down to seven teams this year. And the women do not have a travel league. The Men’s tournament went from 28 teams in 2010 down to 17 teams this year. We need to do better.

The association is accepting advertisement for the annual yearbook. Local sponsors may have ads, with the proceeds going to the scholarship program.

The prices for advertisement are: full page ($65), half page ($35), quarter page ($20) and one-eighth page ($15). Payment is due by 1 July.

With a new crop of PBA Tour talent becoming eligible for the PBA50 Tour in 2014, the road to a third consecutive player of the year crown won’t get any easier for two-time defending PBA50 Player of the Year Walter Ray Williams Jr.

Williams heads an all-star list of more than 120 players ages 50 and over who were entered in the season-opening PBA50 Pasco County Open underway at Lane Glo Bowl in New Port Richey, Fla.

As the 2014 season begins, Williams will again face challenges from his two closest rivals in 2013, fellow Hall of Famers Pete Weber and Amleto Monacelli, who are among 10 Hall of Famers in the field, including newly eligible PBA50 challengers Norm Duke and Parker Bohn III.

Despite competing in only six tournaments in 2013, Weber, a 37-time winner on the PBA Tour, made an immediate impact in 2013, earning PBA50 Rookie of the Year honors thanks to winning two titles, including his first major in the Senior Masters.

Monacelli, a 19-time winner on the PBA Tour, successfully defended his PBA Senior U.S. Open title in Las Vegas in 2013 for his second career PBA50 title. Other top finishes during the season included two seconds, two fifth and two eighth-place finishes.

Chris Hardwick’s Silver Lake Atom Splitters defeated Chris Paul’s L.A. X 4-2 in the ‘Battle of Los Angeles.’

Down 2-1 and trailing by 31 pins in the deciding final Baker game, the Atom Splitters rallied to win the PBA League Elias Cup.

In the fifth frame of the Baker game, which was worth three points, Silver Lake’s Bryon Smith, Chris Barnes, Dom Barrett, Wes Malott and Tommy Jones combined to string the last seven strikes to overtake the L.A. X lineup of Mika Koivuniemi, EJ Tackett, Andres Gomez, Jason Belmonte and Parker Bohn III, winning the game, 225-203, and the match 4-2.

Phantom Warrior Lanes will host the Scratch Tournament of Champions on May 10.

A list of tournament qualifiers can be found at

Last week I reported that tickets for the Hall of Fame dinner honoring Dick Atkinson’s induction into the Texas USBC Hall of Fame were $20. The tickets are $30 per person.

See you on the lanes.

Don Wright has been sharing insights on area/national bowling with Herald readers for more than 25 years. Contact him at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.