A man responsible for advancing the sport of bowling will be honored May 16-17 in San Antonio.

Dick Atkinson, proprietor of Hallmark Lanes, will be honored with his induction into the Texas United States Bowling Congress Hall of Fame.

Atkinson has quite a résumé and is most deserving of the honor. Some of his accomplishments are: life member, Greater Killeen-Fort Hood USBC Association; member of the Greater Killeen-Fort Hood USBC Association Hall of Fame; TCBA Centex Regional Bowler of the Year (1995-1996); TWBA Proprietor of the Year (2001); BPAA Achievement Award (2004); BPAA Proprietor of the Year (2006) and TBCA C.C. Bearden, Jr. Award (2006).

Additionally, he was one of the area’s top bowlers, a member of the United States Army Forces Command (FORSCOM) championship team in 1977; All-Army Team member (1980), his highest certified average was 224 in 2001-2002.

Atkinson has rolled five perfect games and three 800 series, with a high of 831.

Through his career he has held numerous positions of responsibility, including director of the Killeen-Fort Hood Bowling Association (1985-1987), 2nd vice president of Killeen-Fort Hood BA (1987-2005), director of Killeen-Fort Hood Youth BA (1987-2005), director of Killeen-Fort Hood Bowling Council (1989-2005), director of Greater Killeen-Fort Hood USBC Association (2005-2006), president of Killeen-Fort Hood Bowling Council, sergeant-at-arms of Texas Bowling Centers Association (1993), secretary-treasurer, of TBCA (1994-1996), senior vice president of TBCA (1996-2000), president of TBCA (2000-2002), chairman of the board of TBCA (2002-2004), board of directors of TBCA (2004-present), president of Texas State Bowling Council (1998-2001), director of Texas State USBC Association (2006-present), district coordinator of Texas High School Bowling Club (2001-present) and state coordinator of Texas High School Bowling Club (2002-present).

Atkinson has conducted the Southwest Region PBA Killeen Open for 18 years and has worked diligently to promote high school bowling.

Tickets for the induction are available from Kay Smith at kay1smith @aol.com for $20.

The induction will be at the Hilton Hotel on Loop 410 in San Antonio.

Several high games were rolled during the Men’s and Women’s Tournaments. High games for the men were: Tony Hill (279), Jim Maxson (277), Brad Dewald (267), John Manibusan (267 and 258), Neal Nesset (267), Darren Kramer (266 and 256), Phillip Thurston (258) and Danny Barkley (254).

High games for the ladies were: Suzie Wollek (229), Pat Pendleton (215), Bert Hitt (212), Cookie Reddock (204) and Lorna Kensinger (201).

High series for the men were: John Manibusan (741 and 683), Darren Kramer (709), Mark Morgan (697), Phillip Thurston (695), Brad Dewald (678); Birce Miller (673 and 686), Tony Hill ( 670) and Jim Maxson (669).

The ladies had: Suzie Wollek (565), Cookie Reddock (555), Bert Hit (538), Pat Pendleton (532), Cheryl Dewald (531 and 528), JoAnn Biels (518 and 504), Mary Ann Keen (505) and Linda Strickland (504).

See you on the lanes.

Don Wright has been sharing insights on area/national bowling with Herald readers for more than 25 years. Contact him at wrightdk@hot.rr.com

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.