The 18th annual Killeen Open concluded Sunday and the former PBA Southwest Region Rookie of the Year came away with the $3,000 first-place money and the coveted eagle trophy presented by Hallmark Lanes.

Sean Lavery-Spahr, of Pasadena, went up against five-time Killeen Open champion Mike Scroggins, of Amarillo, and denied Scroggins of a six-pack.

Lavery-Spahr started the championship match with a 2-7 split in the second frame which he failed to complete. He then put together nine consecutive strikes to finish with 257.

Scroggins did his best by closing out his game with five consecutive strikes and finishing with a 239.

Lavery-Spahr, winning his first title, said, “I’ve been so close so many times now. To win in this great center is special.”

Clara Guerrero, of Columbia, was the only woman competing in the round of 16. Scroggins eliminated her in the semifinal match. She had an outstanding tournament, averaging 219.15.

The men’s Centex Travel League is now forming and the new officers for the next bowling season are: Russell Dennison (president), Scott Johnson (vice president) and Robert Baumbach (secretary).

The meeting for the new season will be held at Killeen Bowlerama on Aug. 24 at 11 a.m. The meeting is for all team captains and any person that is interested in joining the Travel League.

The Greater Killeen-Fort Hood USBC Association was informed about awards from the USBC.

Adult Awards: Effective Aug. 1, all adult honor scores (300 game, 800 series and 900 series) become once-in-a-lifetime awards from USBC. If a bowler has ever received one of these awards from USBC, they will not receive another free award from USBC, but bowlers will have the option to purchase the award, if they like. Eleven strikes in a row will also no longer be issued. Your association will continue to provide awards, same as USBC was providing. The awards will be lapel pins, and will also include 11 in a row, 300 game and 800 series.

Youth Awards: Effective Aug. 1, USBC will no longer issue any youth awards to youth bowlers to include any honor scores. Your association will continue to provide awards to our youth bowlers, same as USBC was giving, and will present any youth bowler that bowls a 300 game or 800 series an award once per season.

Jack Jurek, of Lackawanna, N.Y., who has endured a series of bad breaks in his quest for his first PBA50 Tour title, made a breakthrough Thursday night when he struck on eight of his first nine shots to defeat PBA Hall of Famer Randy Pedersen, of Clermont, Fla., 242-205, in the title match of the PBA50 South Shore Open at Olympia Lanes.

To all who like and use Facebook, you can find the Greater Killeen-Fort Hood USBC, Killeen Bowlerama and Hallmark Lanes with plenty of news about leagues, honor scores, tournaments and league play.

The association had two of its finest home from the hospital and they seem well on the way to mending.

Eric Odette was released from Scott & White and bowled in the Killeen Open. Dick Atkinson is home and joined the audience at the Killeen Open.

The 2014 PBA Southwest Region host will be inducted into its Hall of Fame during a ceremony to be held in conjunction with the PBA Grand Casino, Hotel and Resort Southwest Invitational, which will be hosted by FireLake Bowling Center. In addition, the Grand Casino will be the “home” of the PBA Southwest Region Hall of Fame, housing a special display to honor the inductees.

See you on the lanes.

Don Wright has been sharing insights on area/national bowling with Herald readers for more than 25 years. Contact him at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.