The ninth annual USBC Youth Championship Tournament had its opening ceremonies last weekend at Killeen Bowlerama. The Youth Leaders did an outstanding job. President Summer Salak was master of ceremony. The national anthem was sung by Amanda Morgan.

On hand for the event was Mayor Dan Corbin, who presented a proclamation dedicating the month of February as Bowler’s Month.

Several awards were made to the Special Olympian Bowler of the Year, Wendy Dillon. The Female Youth Bowler of the Year was Samantha Kriner.

The Male Youth Bowler of the year was Jacob Reed. Coach of the Year was Bernie Gill, and Volunteer of the Year was Kristie Duerre.

There was some outstanding bowling by the youth, led by Heath Fletcher with games of 289-277-268 for an 824 series.

Other great scores were posted by Christian-Anthony Trinidad (279 game, 184 average), Christopher Macko (261 game, 144 average), Carlton Jones (259 game, 141) and Samantha Kriner (256 game, 175 average).

Other high series went to Jordan Garza (646, 701), Christian-Anthony Trinidad (701), Christopher Macko (637), Austin Ratcliff (632), Samantha Kriner (628, 607), Chance Capinia (623), Sierra Ciesiolka (615) and Joseph Henry (600).

The unofficial standings have the Dixon’s Team in first place in Division 1 with a score of 2,862. Hallmark’s Worst was second with 2,807.

Division 2 has the All Stars from Phantom Warrior on top with 3,053. In second is Jordan’s Groupies from Hallmark with 2,976.

All scores can be found at

The PBA’s fiercest rivalry between the two most recent PBA Players of the Year took center stage on ESPN in a Super Bowl Sunday head-to-head battle. In the end, 2012-13 PBA Player of the Year Jason Belmonte claimed an overall victory over 2011-12 Player of the Year Sean Rash in the inaugural PBA Super Clash.

The Super Clash at Thunderbowl Lanes consisted of three games, with the winner of each game earning $2,000 and the player accumulating the highest three-game pinfall total winning a $10,000 grand prize.

The duel didn’t disappoint, with Belmonte winning game one, 258-238. Rash turned the tables in the second game, 258-241, with Belmonte taking a three-pin lead into the final match.

While both players had potentially game-changing splits that resulted in open frames — Rash left the unusual 3-4-6-7 in the fourth and Belmonte an equally rare 6-7-9 in the sixth — Belmonte was able to maintain the edge with four-strike strings from the second through fifth frames and again from the seventh through 10th frames to win the final match, 244-222, and the overall match, 743-718.

Pete Weber climbed the top of one of his biggest personal mountains by laying claim to the 2013 Senior Bowler of the Year in a vote of the members of the International Bowling Media Association. Lucy Sandelin won the corresponding women’s honor and IBMA President Joan Romeo announced the winners.

Weber won his honor by the slimmest margin ever with a one-point victory (175-174) over Walter Ray Williams Jr., of Ocala, Fla., who was the 2012 Senior Bowler of the Year. Amleto Monacelli, of Barquismeto, Venezuela, was a distant third in the balloting.

Weber was the winner of the USBC Senior Masters as well as one other PBA50 tour event, an outstanding record for only participating in six of the 11 PBA50 events. He ranked first in average, second in earnings and sixth in points on the PBA50 tour, but he also had a stellar year on the regular PBA tour, winning the Barbasol Tournament of Champions and finishing third in the PBA World Championship as well as the BPAA U.S. Open, the Lucas Oil event and the Cheetah event.

At the age of 51, he posted the fourth-highest average on the regular PBA tour.

Sandelin won the USBC Senior Queens and was runner-up in the BPAA Senior Women’s U.S. Open. She also earned a gold medal in the WTBA Senior Open as well as a silver and two bronzes. She was also Senior Bowler of the Year in 2008.

Runner-up for Woman’s Senior Bowler of the Year was Tish Johnson, of Colorado Springs, Colo. Paula Vidad, of Sun City, Calif., was a distant third. Johnson was the winner of the Golden Ladies tournament and Vidad captured the BPAA Senior Women’s U.S. Open title.

See you on the lanes.

Don Wright has been sharing insights on area/national bowling with Herald readers for more than 25 years. Contact him at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.