By Kevin Posival

Killeen Daily Herald

Three seniors and a couple of Killeen High juniors earned honorable mentions Wednesday with the release of the 58th Annual Texas Sports Writers Association Class 4A all-state team.

Killeen's Michael Cummings, Royce Asi and I'Raunce Ellis joined Lampasas' Rush Seaver on their second all-state list this season while Badgers' safety Brandon Abbott made his first.

The trio of Roos and Seaver were all honorable mentions on the Associated Press Sports Editor's all-state list released in mid-December.

Killeen's Cummings and Asi are both juniors while Ellis is a senior.

"It's just like The Associated Press (honors) that they've earned. I think they're staying consistent with it, but as far as the kids, these are three great kids," said Killeen coach Sam Jones. "They're three of our leaders – two on offense, one on defense – they're just getting recognized for their accomplishments."

Rush Seaver, a senior linebacker, and Brandon Abbott signed national letters of intent Wednesday with Angelo State and Hardin-Simmons, respectively.

"That just kind of dots the 'i,'" Lampasas coach Joey McQueen said. "Those two kids have worked hard and deserve some recognition and ... It's a good honor for Lampasas."

Aledo running back Johnathan Gray and quarterback Scotty Young shared offensive player of the year honors and Denton Guyer defensive lineman Taylor Bible was the defensive player of the year.

Cummings threw 24 touchdowns and ran for 16 in the Roos' 9-3 season. He threw for more than 2,500 yards and ran for 840 as District 25-4A offensive MVP.

Asi led the team in tackles with 175, including 90 solo during the regular season and Ellis posted 80 knockdowns and 60 pancake blocks for the Roos, who averaged more than 430 yards a game.

Seaver led the Badgers, who advanced to the playoffs for the first time since 2000, with 136 tackles, including 70 solo and 10 for a loss and Abbott was the team's second-leading tackler with 104 total with seven pass break-ups.

Gatesville center Jacob Hunter earned second-team honors on the Class 3A list released Thursday and teammates tight end Garrett Johnson and quarterback Jake Truss were honorable mentions. Salado's Caleb Little was an honorable mention tight end and defensive lineman on the 2A list released Wednesday.

This report includes material from The Associated Press.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.