• February 21, 2017

UMHB nets five players on women’s basketball all-conference teams

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, March 6, 2014 12:00 am

BELTON — The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor women’s basketball team placed five players on the American Southwest Conference All-Conference teams. The Cru had a one first-team selection, one second-team selection, a third-team pick, an honorable mention selection and one player on the ASC All-Freshmen Team.

UMHB’s Alyssa Dean was voted ASC Co-Newcomer of the Year.

Taylor Tucker was voted to the ASC All-Conference First Team after averaging team-bests with 18.3 points and 9.0 rebounds per game. Tucker, a junior forward from A&M Consolidated High School, had 18 blocked shots, 14 steals and 25 assists during the season despite missing the final eight games with an injury.

Macy Moore was selected to the All-Conference Second Team. Moore, a junior guard from Cypress Falls High School, was tied for second on the team in scoring with 13.8 points per game. Moore also had a team-high 75 assists and had 25 steals and 10 blocked shots while shooting 39 percent from 3-point range.

Jovana Miles was named to the All-Conference Third Team. Miles, a senior post from Luling High School, averaged 12.0 points and 8.6 rebounds per contest. She had 22 steals, 13 blocked shots and 29 assists.

Dean earned honorable mention. A junior guard from Aviano High School, Dean tied Moore for second on the team in scoring (13.8 points per game), averaged 3.9 rebounds per game and had 54 assists and 35 steals.

Jonelle Smith was voted to the ASC All-Freshman Team. Smith, from Pflugerville High School, averaged 9.0 points and 3.2 rebounds per game. She shot 41 percent from 3-point range and had 21 assists, 20 steals and five blocked shots.

This is the second ASC All-Conference honor for Tucker and Miles. This is the first All-Conference selection for Moore, Dean and Smith.

The Cru women finished the season with an 18-10 overall record and went 16-6 in ASC play. The team was picked to finish ninth in the league in the conference’s annual Preseason Coaches’ and Media Poll but earned the No. 3 seed in the ASC Championship Tournament. UMHB advanced to the title contest before falling to UT-Tyler 68-56.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
  • 2 Don't Threaten or Abuse. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated. AND PLEASE TURN OFF CAPS LOCK.
  • 3 Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
  • 4 Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 5 Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 6 Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Welcome to the discussion.