Garrett Gaskamp replaced dual-threat talent Michael Cummings his own way.

Assuming the role of Killeen’s quarterback after Cummings’ graduation last season, the sophomore threw for more than 1,300 yards and eight touchdowns during the Roos’ regular season and with plenty of offensive and defensive support helped lead Killeen to its deepest playoff run in three years.Gaskamp signaled the district’s No. 2 offense behind a senior-laden offensive line en route to Killeen’s Division I-4A regional playoff appearance and the District 8-4A offensive newcomer of the year honor. “He’s definitely a different type of quarterback, but he can do what he can do,” Killeen coach Sam Jones said of Gaskamp. “I thought he did well running the offense, reading the other team’s defense and throwing the ball. And I still think he’s going to get much better.”

Gaskamp, the only outright all-district superlative honor winner other than district MVP Darrell Harris, was helped along by the Roos’ senior-led offensive line and defense, both of which were also highly regarded on the all-district list released earlier this week.

Senior tackle Reggie Harris was the Roos’ other first-team offensive selection. Senior defensive ends Derriel Collins, a second-team all-state selection, and Artrez Price were both all-district first team selections as were senior linebacker Justin Acker and junior defensive back Deric Robertson. Acker was the leading tackler on the district’s best defense and Robertson had a team second-best 48 solo tackles during the regular season.

“They had to account for some of our players like a Collins or Harris on offense,” Jones said. “For other coaches to pick you out and say you’re an all-district player, I think that means a lot. We think a lot of our players because we see them all the time — we know what they can do and what they can’t do. But whenever someone else can see them for one week and pick up that, that’s real impressive.”

Senior tackle Dante’ Patrick and junior tight end Akeem Harrison were both second-team selections on the Roos’ offensive line and behind them, junior running back Naaman Young (second team) and honorable mention senior backs Victor Scott and Keaton Morris flourished.

The Roos went 8-5 this season and finished third in 8-4A with a 2-3 district record. Receivers Ricky Pelzer, a senior, and Devyn Williams, a sophomore, were both second-team selections and juniors Devarri McCray and Elika Sailata were honorable mentions on offense.

Defensive tackle Larry Kidd, linebacker John Chivers, defensive back Ameer Lee and safety Dino Cannon — all seniors — were all-district second team selections for the defense. Lee was also the second-team punter.

District 8-4A MVP Harris led the district with 2,330 yards and 21 touchdowns in the regular season.Waco Midway’s Hunter Jarmon and Stephenville’s Brice Gunter were both unanimous 8-4A offensive players of the year and Stephenville’s Padyn Giebler and Midway’s Justin Richter unanimously shared the defensive player of the year honor.

Jordan Randolph from Waco University and Stephenville’s Mookie Carlisle shared the defensive newcomer of the year accolade and the Midway, Stephenville and Waco coaching staffs shared the district’s coach of the year honors.Contact Kevin Posival at or (254) 501-7562.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.