By Matthew Girard

Killeen Daily Herald

Luck was on David Goode Jr.'s side Saturday night in the IMCA Modified feature race on Saturday night at Texas Thunder Speedway.

With the help of a few cautions and spin-outs, Goode held off the 24-car field to pick up his first-ever feature win.

"It feels awesome and I'm about ready to pass out," Goode said after climbing out of his car.

Ben Ketteman (18th) was out front for the majority of the first half of the race, while Goode stayed close behind in second. Goode then caught a break as Ketteman lost control of his car and spun out.

Although Goode never relinquished the lead, the win didn't come easy after Ketteman spun. As soon as Goode took the lead, Trevor Egbert (16th) made his move into second and proceeded to harass Goode for the next five laps. Again, luck was on Goode's side as Egbert lost control coming out of the turn and spun out.

"It was real rough, but I was driving along and praying, 'Don't let these guys catch me,'" Goode said. "I knew I was in the front, but I didn't know how long I could hold those guys off."

P.J. Egbert finished second and retained his IMCA South Central Modifieds points lead (621) with the finish. Hardy Henderson finished third, Brad Jordan finished fourth and William P. McGuire finished fifth.

In the IMCA Stock feature, Eric Jones took advantage of Jason Batt's blown engine to take home the trophy and extend his lead in the points standings over David Dunn.

Batt, who finished ninth, led the entire race, but with two laps to go his car lost power and died on the back straightaway. Jones easily took the lead and came away with the win despite leading for just two laps.

"Jason Batt blowing up really helped a bunch. I definitely wouldn't have been able to get around," Jones said. "As long as you're ahead on the last lap and you're the first one to take the checkered flag, then you are doing pretty good."

Vernon Owens finished second, while Ronnie Ellis Jr., Michael Walter and Colton Monroe rounded out the top five.

Even though Jones led the points standings by just five over David Dunn (10th, 568 points) heading into Saturday night, the win gave Jones (582) a 14-point lead.

Reigning IMCA SportMods track champ Keith White continued his dominance with another feature win. White (634) extended his points lead over Eric Thompson (565) to 69. Brandon Stewart finished second, with Eric Tomlinson placing third, Mike Autry coming in fourth and Mitch Tierny finishing fifth.

Danny Dunn won the A-Main Street Stock feature, while Gage Fuller took home the No. 1 Twisters championship and Michael Hilliard won the No. 2 Twisters race.

Chipper Wood came away with the first-place trophy in the Brazos Mini-Sprints feature race.

Contact Matthew Girard at or (254) 501-7569.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.