Alonso Rivera received a lot of deserved attention this season for the Killeen boys soccer team.

But even the Roos senior midfielder knew a lot of his offense was driven by senior defensive teammates Jairo Ortega and Alexis Alonso.

Rivera, who scored 27 goals this year, earned District 34-4A’s Offensive MVP honor, while defender Ortega and goalkeeper Alonso were also recognized Monday with superlative awards when the 34-4A all-district list was released.

Ortega shared the co-Defensive MVP award with Lampasas senior Chris Sanders and Alonso, who allowed just four goals in district this season, shared the co-Goalkeeper MVP honor with Waco Midway’s Jacob Bruno.

“It’s good to have them, they’re both defense so, if you know you have a good defense, you can stay up (at midfield), don’t defend as much and score more,” Rivera told the Daily Herald in a recent interview. “You can wait up front for the ball because you know they’re going to get it, so it helps you out a lot.”

Rivera, a converted wing, scored 25 goals in Killeen’s 10 district games, including six hat tricks. His scoring and the Roos defense, which behind Ortega and Alonso posted eight district shutouts, led Killeen to a one-loss district record and the second round of the playoffs for the second consecutive season.

“Our defense was really, really good. Our defense held everything together,” Killeen coach Sylvester Jallah said. “It was our main strength of the team this year. Early in the year, when we had problems scoring, they would score for us. The defense was the core of the team.”

Killeen’s notable trio was among the Roos’ eight all-district first team selections. Joining them were senior Darren Fields, juniors Marvin Henderson and Jordan Kappa, sophomore Daniel Carrizales and freshman Zach Mitchiner.

Javier Renteria joined Sanders on the first team for Lampasas.

“He was very aggressive as a defensive stopper and had good heading skills,” Lampasas coach Greg Porter said of Sanders. “He was a leader on the field — very vocal — for us.”

Gatesville’s Sebastian Corrales and Franco Vega were the Hornets’ two first-team selections. Midway, which won the 34-4A title by a one-goal differential over Killeen, was led by District MVP Brandon Disney, Midfield MVP Kevin Potts, Newcomer of the Year Leo Peralta, a freshman, and the district’s Coach of the Year, Tim O’Leary.

Making the second team for Killeen were freshmen Selvin Delcid and Dominic Dunga, sophomores James Houston and Rogelio Angeles, and junior David Koudaio.

“Our main focus coming in this year was our midfield and our new players coming up and getting experience,” Jallah said. “I was really, really happy they stepped up to the challenges that were presented to them.”

Gatesville’s Ryan Baize and goalkeeper Aaron Fuster were both second-teamers, as were Lampasas’ Hunter Stephens and Josue Garcia.

Staff writer Angel Verdejo contributed to this report.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.