Top-three finishes by Jaylen Stringfellow and Quintin Johnson helped the Shoemaker boys cross country team win the 6A/5A Division of the Stephenville Thrill of the Hill meet on Wednesday.

Stringfellow placed second with a time of 16 minutes, 58.26 seconds on the 5K course. Abilene Wylie's Victor Chard won the race in 16:43.57.

Johnson (17:12.56) was third.

The Grey Wolves had seven runners in the top 24 and scored 53 points to edge Stephenville (55) and Wylie (58) for the top spot.

Tramell Blackmon (14th, 19:06.06), Pablo Picacio (15th, 19:05.86) and Raul Zavala (19th, 19:39.49) also contributed to Shoemaker's score.

Xavier Payne (19:20.54) finished 16th for Ellison.

There were 59 runners and seven full teams in the race.

In the girls race, Erin Jackson was 19th for Shoemaker in 24:18.1.

Olivia Wintz was the top runner for Ellison, placing 21st (24:32.79).

Gatesville won the 4A boys division and took three of the top four individual spots.

Luis Macias won in 17:30.21. Carlo Martinez was next at 17:57.09. Angel Armendariz finished fourth in 18:38.65.

The Hornets beat Graham 41-51 for the team title. Lampasas was third with 114 points.

Cody Hinson (10:02.94) finished seventh to lead the Badgers. Tate Rainwater (19:35.19) was ninth.

Other scorers for Gatesville were Cuyler Pearcy (13th, 19:49.3) and Ramon Medina (20:37.58).

There were 55 runners and eight full teams in the field.

Gatesville finished second in the girls division.

Glen Rose senior Jocelyn Mims (12:41.7) beat Gatesville junior Tasha Thoms (12:43.61) by less than 2 seconds to win the 3,200-meter race.

Hornet freshman Bethany Penrod (13:10) was third.

Godley won the team championship with 37 points. Gatesville scored 57. Lampasas took third with 88 points.

Brooke Coffman (13:32.89) led Lampasas with a ninth-place finish. Raelean Sutton (13:58.34) was 15th for the Lady Badgers. Nyla Long (14:14.43) was 18th.

Gatesville placed three others in the top 22: April Ramirez (14th, 13:50.7), Lacy Campos (16th, 13:59.63) and Grace Penrod (14:37.82).

There were 57 runners and eight full teams in the race.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.